Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-04-2013, 09:28 PM   #1

Share |

Replacing dishwasher

The house I just bought has a pretty old dishwasher that I'd rather not use for personal reasons (long story). The good news, however, is that someone I know just updated their kitchen and offered me his beautiful stainless steel washer. If I can come haul it away from his garage, its mine.

But then I'll have to figure out how to install it myself.
I'm new to this stuff and have no idea what is involved in installing a dishwasher. Is this something I should be able to figure out without any prior plumbing experience (beyond the occasional repairing of a toilet)?

dishe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:37 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

Replacing dishwasher

Suggest getting the unit to your place, and then have a local mom & pop plumber do the job, over choosing one with the largest ad in the Yellow pages, or flashier trucks, since most mom & pop operations will be cheaper, due to less overhead, but also the workmanship you will find is better. Especially if you can find one that the family history like my guy, this stuff is in their blood. You will need electric for it also. Most will use a 15 amp circuit, and in some areas, you can share the same circuit for the disposall, if the total of the two appliances equal no more than 20 amps, then you can use a single 20 amp circuit for both appliances. You would have a outlet that the disposall & dishwasher would plug into.

Also depending on your area, they may request that that outlet be gfci protected, so check with your local code office.