Refrigerator Not Working = Help? - Appliances - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 11:55 AM   #16
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,575
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


older refrigs will tend to trip gfci outlets for no apparent reason, seen it a hundred times. If it were mine I would not worry about it if you can get it into a non gfci. If it were a newer model refrig and trips the gfci then I would be looking for a reason.

Advertisement

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:57 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


Gentelmen,
Here is where I am with your suggestions... I did run a ground wire from the back of the unit to a good ground sourse. Plugged it in and it ran for almost 1 hr better than before when it ran for only 20 minn before tripping the GFI. Now when I let it sit unplugged for 2 minn it will start up again and run for only 12-15 minnn before it trips again. Question, when I got the refrigerator, I unhooked and cut the water lines because I was going to put it in my garage. I also took off and unplugged the water valve, could this be a part of my grounding problem by removing the water valve and it may not be compleating the circut?

Thanks
Vasken
Vasken Jibilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 02:19 PM   #18
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,575
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


no, that would have nothing to do with it
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 04:18 PM   #19
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


I don't think this is grounding problem at all. That wouldn't cause unit to shut down. What's amperage and wire gauge of circuit?
Really seems as if compressor is on last legs and pulling heavy load just to keep running. low coolant level can have same effect, is there any icing up on cooling coils? Perhaps all oil did not run back into compressor B4 you started it up, damaging compressor.

Last edited by notmrjohn; 09-27-2012 at 04:22 PM.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:08 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


Gentelmen......
I want to thank you for your help with this, Ok here are the results. I did check all of the grounds going to the refer and all checked out good. I did take both of your advice and did connect the refer to a reg 110 outlet without a GFI and the unit was humming like a humming bird and kept on running. I turned it on at 2:00 pm and here it is now 9:00 pm and that puppy is running so quiet and smooth like it just left the showroom floor. I checked and it has gone through all the cycles and did see the heater coil come on when I had the lights off so the timer is working also. I will let it run for 12 hrs before I adjust the tempature dials for the freezer and the cold box. Just to make sure that it is getting cold, at 2 pm I put 4 bottles of beer to test it out and at 9 pm they were already nice and cold. Gentelmen, I want to thank you very much for your expert advice and knowledge to help me with this project. I wil repost tomorrow to let you know how it did overnight. Keep your fingers crossed. Oh by the way, not sure if I mentioned this before, but the refer was built in 2000. The gentleman that said that the older units cannot run on a GFI was right.

Thanks again
Vasken Jibilian
Vasken Jibilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:27 PM   #21
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,575
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


we like succes stories, but how did you get it into a non gfci outlet? I thought you said your state laws required all outlets in garage to be gfci?
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:39 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


I plugged it into the outlet where the garage opener is in the celing and plugged it there that way I did not need a extention cord either. This is a test and i will install another 110-v outlet and leave the GFI alone.

Thanks again
Vasken Jibilian
Vasken Jibilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 09:59 AM   #23
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


"Gentlemen?" Who are you talkin to? Yes, thanks for final report, sometimes there's a dozen people tryin to solve a problem, 2 or 3 pages of advice, then we're all left hanging. Did any of it work? Did he just give up? And hardware worries that someone will follow my advice and is lying dead on the floor.
Opener, that was clever, not for too long now, if the reefer started right when opener started that load might trip circuit breaker.
speakin' of openers, about those nice and cold bottles.
__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:38 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


Not Mr. John
Thank you for your suggestions and toubleshooting.... Yes I did what you had recomended and it worked perfect. Yes this morning the beers are nice and cold and I also checked the freezer by putting in a tray for ice and it froze the water in 20 minn. I am very happy with this project and thank you for your advice. You can come over anytime to enjoy a nice cold bottle of beer.

Thanks again,
Vasken Jibilian
Vasken Jibilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 01:10 PM   #25
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Refrigerator not working = Help?


One of the many ways is tellin me how to get closer to that cold beer. Me and hardware need an Obama beer fest to make peace anyway.

Advertisement

__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Filled Gas Furance Not working szym0n HVAC 1 02-21-2011 05:46 AM
Receptacle stopped working lovetobuild Electrical 3 02-11-2011 11:05 AM
side by side light swithes not working katkell2645 Electrical 2 10-17-2008 08:22 PM
Two switch in one box: only one working jdtsmith Electrical 12 09-29-2008 02:32 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 02:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts