Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2014, 03:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 411
Share |
Default

refrigerator cabinet??


I hope this is the correct area to ask this...

I am getting ready to build a cabinet around my fridge, the plan was to put a cabinet directly above the fridge, sort of like this. I used to work in a cabinet shop and from what I recall all the refrigerator cabinets where built like that. I was however, talking with a friend the other day and noticed the cabinet above his fridge was mounted about 8-10" up from the top of the fridge. He said that was because the carpenter told him the fridge had to be able to breath up.

We both agreed the vents are on the bottom, but now I'm curious.... Is it ok to place the cabinet as close as possible? I'll try to locate the manual, but who knows if I still have it. If it matters I have a whirlpool side by side.

Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 03:43 PM   #2
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,007
Blog Entries: 1
Default

refrigerator cabinet??


I have built cabinets for years and the only time we couldn't put the cabinet above the ref was when it was a Sub Zero. The cabinets in our kitchen are built like those in the picture and have no problems.

__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BigJim For This Useful Post:
Master Brian (05-12-2014)
Old 05-12-2014, 03:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 411
Default

refrigerator cabinet??


Good to know. I didn't have any problems at my last place and I installed the cabinets there. Just figured better safe than sorry....
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 04:00 PM   #4
Member
 
cj133's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 246
Default

refrigerator cabinet??


Depends on the design of the fridge.

I believe our 2011 Kitchenaid pulls air in from the front left side and blows it out from the front right side all along the bottom. To be honest the condenser design sucks but that's another discussion. On this style fridge which many are probably the same no, you don't really need clearance.


Now, if you take one of my 1933-34 Monitor Top refrigerators, those need clearance around and over the top as they use 100% convection to cool the condenser.

Last edited by cj133; 05-12-2014 at 04:02 PM.
cj133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.