Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2011, 09:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

refrigerator


why after power outage my Ge refrigerator not cooling properly

marthael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 11:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 40
Default

refrigerator


Quote:
Originally Posted by marthael View Post
why after power outage my Ge refrigerator not cooling properly

Not good.. could be fuse in line with the compressor. Hopefully your compressor didn't die because than you'll probably need a new refrigerator. Compressors are generally as much to fix as it would be to get a new fridge. Might to want to call a sears repair service center. For about $80.00 they will come out and do a through inspection and tell you what it will cost to fix. You might not like what it will cost but if it's something minor they will find it and can fix it. Good luck.

Avadon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 04:02 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 44
Default

refrigerator


Power failures and on and off of power can be a real issue.
This on and of actions is really hard on relays,overload devices on compressors. Sometimes it can cause overloads relays to over heat,contacts to burn and prevent them from coming back on or from functioning properly. Its a common issue with many of the new refrigerators.
With today appliances you really can't just make a judgement call on what is the real problem without proper testing. They have defrost timers,thermostats,overload relays,fans,defrost coils,start and run capacitors and anyone of those things can keep the refrigerator,compressor from functioning properly. I doubt it is a serious problem.
It will be costly. Repairmen are not cheap.
Idmason60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 04:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 40
Default

refrigerator


Before you call the repairman check to see if it's still under warranty. Some of these units have a 1-2 year warranty. If it's been longer than that your probably out of luck. I would still call the factory 800# and ask them about any quick fixes. This is all the stuff that I did. I just had this same issue. Moved a very nice $800 fridge cross country, plugged it in when i got my new house and low and behold compressor didn't run. Sears came out and tested everything for $80.00 but found it would cost about $450.00 to fix. Not worth it. Just went and bought a nicer new fridge.
Avadon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 08:21 AM
Water line for new refrigerator? pa555 Plumbing 5 06-08-2012 06:06 PM
Painting a Refrigerator trout_baller Appliances 5 10-04-2008 02:09 PM
4th of July Refrigerator DavePA Electrical 4 03-18-2008 09:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.