Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2009, 03:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

range hood specs?


I tried to replace my parents' range hood with one they purchased from Lowes. Turns out the vertical exhaust opening center point is 5" from the back of the unit while the existing was 6". Old one was a Kenmore and new one is Broan.

So the hole in the cabinet floor obviously doesn't match. And it isn't oversized enough to get the exhaust pipe in the collar. I know I can always take a jigsaw and open the hole in the cabinet up... but that would leave a big gap on one side. Also I am wondering why this dimension isn't standard and being that it isn't why can't I find the spec for that measurement on any range hood box or product info web page? Are all Broans 6" and Kenmores 5"?

Last edited by homer12; 04-18-2009 at 03:15 PM.
homer12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 11:22 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default

range hood specs?


Hey Homer,

Usually the size of the ducting is relational to the output of the fan. Perhaps you purchased a unit that had a slightly lower CFM rating than the old one. I'm curious as to what model you purchased from Lowes and what model the old Kenmore was. You can find a copy of duct to CFM ratios here.
rondoharkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 04:53 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: plano tx
Posts: 28
Default

range hood specs?


We bought probably the same vent hood from Lowes over memorial day weekend. Our old (30 years) Ventahood vent pipe was on a 14 inch center while the new Braun was on a 16 inch center. I was not going to cut a smily face in the bottom of the cabinet so back to Lowes for the carbon filter. Yes the old vent pipe is still in place covering the hole. We just plan on changing the filter.
PLAIN O TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood through the wall - - -stud in the way pacifier1er Building & Construction 30 05-21-2013 09:23 AM
suggestions on contructing a range hood steve1234 Carpentry 15 08-30-2010 10:35 PM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-15-2008 11:13 PM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 04:43 PM
Can I Wire a range hood to an exhisting outlet? skellies Electrical 2 05-09-2006 04:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.