Range Hood Questions. - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2008, 11:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Question

Range hood questions.


We're getting close to selecting and installing a range hood. (The kitchen doesn't have one now.) We're currently looking at a mid-priced unit from Broan. (aka: NuTone)

Is there any particular CFM's I should look for? The Broan is around 430cfm. I'm also concerned about the seal of the exhaust vent. What prevents heat and cooling from escaping out, and small critters from getting in? A simple "flapper" wouldn't seem to be adequate. Is it?

I would appreciate any thoughts and comments before we pull the trigger on a unit. Thanks all.

Artie

Advertisement

Artie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 10:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Range hood questions.


I,m not sure about the seal question but I do know that the general rule of thumb is CFM's should be at least 1% of the total max BTU output of all your range top burners combined.

So if you have four burners that max at 15000 BTU's thats 60000 total, thus requiring at least a 600 CFM hood. Hope this helps some.

Advertisement

__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 07:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Range hood questions.


Great info. Thanks handi.

Ours is about 25,000 btu's, so 430 should be more than enough.
Artie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 09:18 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Range hood questions.


Just don't go so large as to have the blower stealing "combustion air" from gas appliances anywhere in the house.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 09:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Range hood questions.


Thanks for the tip, but not a problem. The only gas in this house is after my wife makes chili.
Artie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood vent vinman Roofing/Siding 6 05-07-2012 02:23 PM
Range Hood venting questions Crashless Remodeling 5 04-13-2008 10:30 PM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 05:43 PM
duct a range hood into garage? jimb317 General DIY Discussions 8 01-30-2008 08:41 PM
Can I Wire a range hood to an exhisting outlet? skellies Electrical 2 05-09-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts