Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 06:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Range hood duct question


I have an old house we recently purchased. There is no range hood over the stove, but there is a fake hood and underneath appears to be maybe an old duct? We want to install a range hood but are unsure whether to purchase a ductless or a ducted one because we're not sure where this duct leads to. What do you guys recommend? Is there anything we can do to figure out if this duct leads outside or should we have someone come take a look at it?http://postimage.org/image/rdkcmoxfp/
http://postimage.org/image/g6nx9coxf/

leilei1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,732
Default

Range hood duct question


I've never seen one off to the side like that.
Your there were not, not sure how we can tell you were it goes.
Is this an outside wall?
Look on the outside to see if there's a vent on the wall.
Did someone going over the old siding with vinyl and cover over the hole?

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Range hood duct question


Thanks for your quick response. There is a vent on the outside wall, but the house is 90 years old, I have no idea how I can conclude that the duct goes to the vent.
leilei1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:23 PM   #4
Coconut Pete's paella!
 
CoconutPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC / Denmark
Posts: 1,317
Default

Range hood duct question


Take the cover off the outside vent and shove a measuring tape or something similar into the duct?
CoconutPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 03:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,342
Default

Range hood duct question


Connecting the duct work is going to be impossible without moving it to the center of the range. I'd bet the range was previously centered on that duct and it was abandoned during a remodel.
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a range hood with existing ductwork dave.vp HVAC 2 11-10-2012 12:41 AM
Range Hood ducting in closet, is this ok? patented HVAC 1 09-28-2012 03:44 PM
New range hood - duct help Hardiw1 Remodeling 3 09-01-2011 06:40 AM
range hood duct problem orka HVAC 0 04-26-2011 07:18 PM
Connecting duct for range hood vent UAL767 HVAC 9 01-31-2010 01:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.