R134A Port On GE Monogram Refrigerator - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2012, 04:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rural northern NJ
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 320
Default

R134A Port on GE Monogram Refrigerator


The appliance repair guy took a look at my refrigerator, but he couldn't hook up to the process port on the compressor (low side) because it didn't fit either his manifold or mine. Do you know what adapter to use for a GE monogram R134 port?

Advertisement


Last edited by benjamincall; 06-13-2012 at 12:29 PM.
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,580
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

R134A Port on GE Monogram Refrigerator


there should be no port unless it has been previously repaired, and then if it was done right it should not have been left in the system

Advertisement

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rural northern NJ
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 320
Default

R134A Port on GE Monogram Refrigerator


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
there should be no port unless it has been previously repaired, and then if it was done right it should not have been left in the system
I tried an r410a mini split adapter, but the thread pitch seemed wrong.
Attached Thumbnails
R134A Port on GE Monogram Refrigerator-dsc_0909.jpg  
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 11:16 PM   #4
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,580
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

R134A Port on GE Monogram Refrigerator


still not sure why it has an access valve on it but it looks like a normal sized valve to me
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 08:57 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rural northern NJ
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 320
Default

R134A Port on GE Monogram Refrigerator


1/2 ACME Female x 1/4 MFL? Where might I find something like that besides a supply house (already tried)?
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 09:28 PM   #6
Tired & Dirty
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: East Central Illinois
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

R134A Port on GE Monogram Refrigerator


Install a solder on self piercing access port below that one.

page number 114 in the catalog on this link, these work very good. be sure to leak test after soldering on the line & before piercing the line. these are avaible in most hvac parts house.

http://www.ite-tools.com/uploads/eng...s_fittings.pdf
evapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 01:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rural northern NJ
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 320
Default

R134A Port on GE Monogram Refrigerator


I felt a little uncomfortable using a piercing fitting, so I'll see if the adapters I ordered fit the process port.

I'm going to triple evacuate the system and add some Super Seal ACR.

Do I need to add or change oil after I evac?

Advertisement

benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water line for new refrigerator? pa555 Plumbing 5 06-08-2012 07:06 PM
Question about 20amp outlet for my refrigerator Penguinfan Electrical 6 04-04-2012 08:36 AM
kenmore top freezer refrigerator problem. joanneh105 Appliances 3 06-13-2011 09:08 AM
4th of July Refrigerator DavePA Electrical 4 03-18-2008 10:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts