Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-28-2011, 06:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

problem dryer


My Kenmore dryer will not heat up or turn off

Harlequinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:01 PM   #2
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

problem dryer


have you checked the breaker and or fuse to make sure you are getting 220 volts. If your voltage is correct you likely blew a thermal fuse inside the dryer.

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,731
Default

problem dryer


Make? Model? Gas? Electric? Approx. age? Any previous related problems, or did this just start? How do you shut it off, or is it running now? Any other details that you can provide?
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:05 PM   #4
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

problem dryer


oops, I totally misread the post I read it will not heat or turn on. Ok not turning off is a diffrent problem. If your dryer has a sensor dry or an auto dry feature, it will not turn off by itself if there is no heat. fix the heat problem and it will shut off.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 34
Default

problem dryer


Funny, I am having the same problem with a GE electric dryer- exactly. I am going to test the voltage tomorrow.
I switched it from a 4 prong to a 3 prong, but bought the dryer used so it could very well be a problem with the dryer itself.
Post when you find the problem!
Lisa C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 05:44 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

problem dryer


Lisa C, since you switched cords- make sure you did the ground strap thingie or the dryer will not be safe..
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jacques For This Useful Post:
Lisa C (04-29-2011)
Old 04-29-2011, 07:12 AM   #7
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Default

problem dryer


I had the same problem with my electric dryer a few years ago...it was a failed heating element. I've seen it on several other electric clothes dryers as well. The heating elements break over time due to repeated heating and cooling.

Sometimes it's hard to see the break with the naked eye because the heat is what makes it open, but it's easy to check the element using a continuity tester.

The reason the dryer keeps running is due to, as hardwareman said, the humidity sensor is operating as it should.

A new heating elements can usually be bought at a local appliance parts supply house as they are a common expendable item. They are relatively easy to change by removing the ducting that is screwed onto the back of the dryer. While you are in there you can clean the blower wheel and duct of all the accumulated lint and hair ties...ask me how I know!

The elements cost about $80.00 on average.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright

Last edited by fabrk8r; 04-29-2011 at 07:18 AM.
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fabrk8r For This Useful Post:
Lisa C (04-29-2011)
Old 04-29-2011, 08:11 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 34
Default

problem dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacques View Post
Lisa C, since you switched cords- make sure you did the ground strap thingie or the dryer will not be safe..
Thanks, I got that the second time. It was confusing but finally got that right.
Lisa C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 34
Default

problem dryer


220 on back of dryer at block. Taking it back, the heating element is $250!

Lisa C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange electric problem in new house, hot ground! area123 Electrical 29 07-25-2010 11:29 AM
Please look at this dryer vent installation Andy Griffith Appliances 6 08-31-2009 12:39 PM
Neutral problem, not sure what to do now BataviaJim Electrical 37 01-03-2009 11:00 AM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 10:45 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.