Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 09:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Preheating time for oven


I recently moved into a new condo where there is a self cleaning oven in the stove.

When I preheat the oven it takes 21 minutes to reach 400 degrees, only take about 5 minutes in another stove at my daughters.

I figure something is wrong, it is a digital stove, no fuses.

Am I correct in thinking this is way too long to preheat?


Last edited by Terri311; 03-09-2013 at 09:39 PM. Reason: typo
Terri311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 81
Default

Preheating time for oven


What kind of oven?

Look it up on the MFG web site. Call or E-mail customer service.

Its possible there is a relay out on the power control board causing only one element to work.

mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 477
Default

Preheating time for oven


I remember the instructions of my 5 year old oven saying 15 minutes to preheat. Mine is on the small side. I wouldn't worry. Ovens are known to become hotter than their knobs indicate over time, which in my opinion is worse than this.
Dorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:42 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,408
Default

Preheating time for oven


you "may" have an "energy efficient" stove. meaning, it used less energy and takes longer to get up to speed.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:50 AM   #5
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,330
Default

Preheating time for oven


Seems like a long time to me. I had a similar problem years ago with my gas wall oven I needed to replace a part which was located around the electronic ignition. It was small box. I don't remember what it was called. My over preheats to 400 in 5 minutes or a little less
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:06 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Preheating time for oven


Thank you everyone, I would not wonder if I did not have another stove in another residence that does reheat to that temperature in 5 minutes.

Another thing I noticed is that the elements in the oven never get really red, and neither do the top elements.

It is a Moffat range

Last edited by Terri311; 03-10-2013 at 10:06 AM. Reason: forgot some info
Terri311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:56 AM   #7
Girl with a Hammer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 11
Default

Preheating time for oven


Sounds like you may need to have someone take a look at your oven. Overtime, it's normal for the heating element to be replaced. How long have you had the oven by the way?
dixongal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 11:28 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,408
Default

Preheating time for oven


my wife says it takes about 10 mins for our new LG to heat to 400deg.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:06 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Preheating time for oven


Quote:
Originally Posted by dixongal View Post
Sounds like you may need to have someone take a look at your oven. Overtime, it's normal for the heating element to be replaced. How long have you had the oven by the way?
I don't know how old the stove is, it was here when I moved in and it looks very new.
Terri311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 01:56 PM   #10
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,511
Default

Preheating time for oven


15 mins is about the norm. Most ovens use the bake and broil elements to preheat. If it is cooking fine after the preheat I wouldn't be to worried about it.

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems, GE SunSmart Digital Timer 15312 Mike Muls Electrical 34 06-19-2013 11:59 AM
My first time playing (literally) with mains power Red Squirrel Electrical 16 05-16-2012 02:58 PM
shelves and cure time 7echo Painting 5 04-02-2012 08:27 PM
How do I change the time? MNsawyergp Site Help and Suggestions 4 02-14-2012 06:25 PM
Low budget concrete patio, sections at a time... vertigoelectric Flooring 0 01-29-2012 04:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.