Power Up Or Not ? - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2013, 12:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SE Indiana
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 14
Default

power up or not ?


I am storing my son's refrigerator for a few months. do I need to keep it powered up or just let it sit? seems like I heard once it is better to power them up

Advertisement

mule98h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:51 PM   #2
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,751
Rewards Points: 1,344
Default

power up or not ?


If it's just for a few months, IMO, Clean it all out and just leave it plugged in until he's ready to retrive it. It won't use that much more electricity. Now if your talking about a long term storage in a garage or secure storage center somewhere than that's different.

Advertisement

jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,743
Rewards Points: 602
Default

power up or not ?


Not going to hurt a thing to leave it unplugged/
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 08:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,104
Rewards Points: 2,680
Default

power up or not ?


yep. unplugged.

also. i understand, that if you lay one down. like if you have to haul it that way. you should not plug it in for a day or so, after uprighting it.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 08:32 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

power up or not ?


Use it for a beer or overflow food storage, while it is taking up real estate. I would take advantage of having the extra refer during the holidays. When done with the holidays, either turn it up to 1 if storing in your garage, or unplug.

Keep in mind that if you do store it in your garage, and tend to get field mice in there, place bait traps at the entrance, along the wall, and also on both sides of the refer, and one in front, so that it keeps the mice out of it.

I do tend to place stuff on wood shipping pallets, so that it keeps it off the ground, so if you want to, get a sturdy Chep blue pallet, and have him help you place it on it. It will help keep the mice out of it, while sitting in storage also.

When you transport it, rent a small U-Haul, or pickup from either Menard's, Home Depot, U-Haul to haul it from his place to yours upright. Check with your local Lowe's or Home Depot. They may have a box from a unit that was taken to a customer's, that you can use to protect his when you transport it to your place.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 11-17-2013 at 08:36 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 08:34 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

power up or not ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
yep. unplugged.

also. i understand, that if you lay one down. like if you have to haul it that way. you should not plug it in for a day or so, after uprighting it.
The older units you used to have to let them sit upright for a couple of days. The newer units are not as bad, since the compressors are built different and do not use the same refrigerant as the older units.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (11-17-2013)
Old 11-19-2013, 11:45 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,115
Rewards Points: 1,346
Default

power up or not ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
The newer units are not as bad, since the compressors are built different and do not use the same refrigerant as the older units.
It's not really the refrigerant that's the problem. It's the oil. You need to give it time to settle back into the base of the compressor.
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bob Sanders For This Useful Post:
danpik (11-20-2013)
Old 11-20-2013, 12:16 AM   #8
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,344
Rewards Points: 524
Default

power up or not ?


Yes clean it. Stick a box of open baking soda in there. Just a couple of months. Now if it was me. I probably run it. When i caught some pepsi on sale. I would stock up. Last week my dollar general had degorino supreme and peperoni pizza 4.50. I grab a bunch. Grocery store 6.99 . 2 days later went up there to grab some pepsi. All gone.

Last edited by 747; 11-20-2013 at 12:18 AM.
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:20 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

power up or not ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
It's not really the refrigerant that's the problem. It's the oil. You need to give it time to settle back into the base of the compressor.
The old ones were that way, now it is no longer, since they have redesigned the compressors, so that you do not have to worry about that anymore. You only have to wait a couple of hours now, before plugging in, unlike the old days, where you had to wait a day or two.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:21 AM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

power up or not ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 747 View Post
Yes clean it. Stick a box of open baking soda in there. Just a couple of months. Now if it was me. I probably run it. When i caught some pepsi on sale. I would stock up. Last week my dollar general had degorino supreme and peperoni pizza 4.50. I grab a bunch. Grocery store 6.99 . 2 days later went up there to grab some pepsi. All gone.
Pepsi & Pizza, you are kidding. Here it is stock that sucker with microbrews, no soda or Pizza.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:37 AM   #11
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,549
Rewards Points: 780
Default

power up or not ?


Block the doors open or take them off. It may look clean but stuff will grow....lots of stuff.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PoleCat For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (11-20-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 12:55 AM   #12
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,344
Rewards Points: 524
Default

power up or not ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Pepsi & Pizza, you are kidding. Here it is stock that sucker with microbrews, no soda or Pizza.
Beer is always on sale where i live. If its not on sale at grocery store. It is at the distillery.
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 747 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-23-2013)
Old 12-02-2013, 11:07 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 562
Default

power up or not ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
yep. unplugged.

also. i understand, that if you lay one down. like if you have to haul it that way. you should not plug it in for a day or so, after uprighting it.
It is critical to lay it down correctly; otherwise oil goes places from which it cannot get back.
The ones I looked at have to be laid down on the back, but others might be different.

Advertisement

Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about power receptacle ZackHagenseker Electrical 12 12-20-2012 12:16 AM
Event Production power distribution, I want to do it right. mattvivsound Electrical 0 07-13-2012 09:54 AM
Power strip hack salex Electrical 3 01-31-2012 07:10 AM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 08:45 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 10:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts