Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2008, 08:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 121
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plug for new dishwasher


is there any reason I can't just make an electrical cord using a 3 prong diy plug and plaine old cabling that meets the amp & wattage requirements of our soon to arrive dishwasher?

1655graff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 10:17 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

plug for new dishwasher


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1655graff View Post
is there any reason I can't just make an electrical cord using a 3 prong diy plug and plaine old cabling that meets the amp & wattage requirements of our soon to arrive dishwasher?
by rights your actually supposed to buy a cord made by the dishwashers manufacture, but I just buy pre-made appliance cords.

dont be a hack and at least attempt to do it right and buy a new cord...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 12:10 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

plug for new dishwasher


a simple premade pigtail at Home Depot or Lowes is only about $8.00 and easy!
hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 04:05 AM   #4
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

plug for new dishwasher


There's no reason you can't use a piece of reguular romex (14g w/ground max if on a 15 amp breaker or 12g w/ground max if on a 20 amp breaker) with a standard three-prong plug. Dishwashers are supposed to be on dedicated circuits.
Mike
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 06:14 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plug for new dishwasher


An appliance cord is made for this application, why not use it.

It would also look as if you knew what you where doing.
NAIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 10:14 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 331
Rewards Points: 250
Default

plug for new dishwasher


The dishwasher cord will most likely be out of sight and in a location where a water leak may submerge it, even partially, as in the cabinet area underneath the sink, so I'd use an approved manufactured cord that's rated for the dishwasher. The thickness and quality of the cord's exterior insulation is an important factor to consider. I agree that HD sells a good one for only a few bucks so why not treat your new dishwasher to a brand new cord?
End Grain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 11:03 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 121
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plug for new dishwasher


Thanks.

I am looking to "roll-my-own" because I've heard from 2 people (1 at work; 1 at church) that have bought store-made "dishwasher..." cords only to have them fail at the splice on a Bosch and on a Miele (respectively).
1655graff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 12:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 331
Rewards Points: 250
Default

plug for new dishwasher


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1655graff View Post
Thanks.

I am looking to "roll-my-own" because I've heard from 2 people (1 at work; 1 at church) that have bought store-made "dishwasher..." cords only to have them fail at the splice on a Bosch and on a Miele (respectively).
I can't imagine why they would have failures if the connections were made properly. Strictly as an FYI here, not challenging you:

Whenever I install a dishwasher or a garbage disposal, I use crimp-on insulated caps for completely secure and vibration-proof connections over the twisted wires. Similarly, if the cord's wires are properly twisted together and the correct size wire nuts are securely applied, it should be a total non-issue. Electrical tape over twisted wires is not appropriate and is doomed to fail or cause other problems.

I don't like the idea of a homemade Romex cable with a plug end on it but that's just my 2 cents. I can't see any advantage whatsoever in using it over a UL-rated cord that's designed for the specific purpose. But, as we used to say back in Brooklyn, "Sa-zeech ah-zone".
End Grain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 03:51 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

plug for new dishwasher


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Swearingen View Post
Dishwashers are supposed to be on dedicated circuits.
Mike

Really? I'm afraid to ask where you heard this...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 03:57 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

plug for new dishwasher


Here is the actual code on installing a cord for a dishwasher....


NEC 422.16 (b) (2) says this...



(2) Built-in Dishwashers and Trash Compactors.
Built-in
dishwashers and trash compactors shall be permitted to be
cord-and-plug connected with a flexible cord identified as
suitable for the purpose in the installation instructions of
the appliance manufacturer where all of the following conditions
are met.
(1) The flexible cord shall be terminated with a groundingtype
attachment plug.

Exception: A listed dishwasher or trash compactor distinctly
marked to identify it as protected by a system of double insulation,
or its equivalent, shall not be required to be terminated
with a grounding-type attachment plug.
(2) The length of the cord shall be 0.9 m to 1.2 m (3 ft to
4 ft) measured from the face of the attachment plug to
the plane of the rear of the appliance.
(3) Receptacles shall be located to avoid physical damage
to the flexible cord.
(4) The receptacle shall be located in the space occupied
by the appliance or adjacent thereto.
(5) The receptacle shall be accessible

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kenmore dishwasher shoots water out the side! tigerbalm2424 Appliances 7 02-02-2010 08:55 PM
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 09:07 PM
Dishwasher placement jkrodger Remodeling 2 08-03-2007 03:32 PM
Dishwasher with no plug? Jeanbarb Appliances 5 04-23-2007 08:33 PM
Poratable Dishwasher help oiram Appliances 4 02-09-2007 05:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.