Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2013, 11:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


Hi - We were give a brand new over the range microwave, Frigidaire FFMV162LW to help us out with our kitchen remodel, only it does not actually fit over the cook top, so we were hoping to put it under another cabinet, sort of as a built in. I have not been able to get a good answer from Frigidaire about whether this would work, other than it would 'void the warranty', with no explanation on why it would not work. Does anyone have any knowledge about this?

Thanks so much,

L. Dutchak

ldutchak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


Can you post a picture of the cabinets so we can see what your talking about.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:35 AM   #3
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


Two things come to mind. There's supposed to be a dedicated receptacle for it and venting is necessary. I think it would be cheaper to find one that fits.
JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


Venting ductwork is only needed if you are using it as an exhaust fan, which it seems you are not. Do you have electrical where you are planning to put it? Depending on your electrical comfort level, an electrician could easily be more than a new one sized to fit.
If it were me i'd sell it used and buy one used to fit.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:36 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,444
Rewards Points: 558
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


I would swap it for a different unit. The unit you have doesn't have "feet" on the bottom so it won't sit right in a cabinet.
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:44 AM   #6
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


if you can post a picture that would help, I see no reason it would not work. It does not need to be vented out so as long as you have a back wall to attach the rear bracket to and a cabinet above you will be ok
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 01:12 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


Thanks for all of the helpful suggestions. We don't actually have the cabinet, but were going to see if my Dad would build one that would would fit above the microwave, and then we would affix the 'over the range microwave' to the wall underneath this cabinet, similar to what we would have done, had we put it over the cook top as originally planned. We would have an electrician put in a new circuit and outlet (our home is 1959). I just noticed in the instructions it does say that you can have in on 'recirculation' so it does not need to exhaust, so maybe this plan would work.

The other idea is to sell or exchange the over the range for a countertop model and try to put that on a shelf that would be built into the cabinet mentioned above, rather than get a built in microwave. The built in microwaves are about twice as expensive as the over the range and countertop microwaves, and naturally we are already over budget so don't want to spend that much if we don't have too.

What do you all think? Thanks so much!

L Dutchak
ldutchak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 01:20 PM   #8
Coconut Pete's paella!
 
CoconutPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC / Denmark
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


I think that's going to be a lot of work for something you don't want in your kitchen but are putting there because you happen to have this product.

Do it right, sell it or exchange it or do whatever you gotta do to get the right microwave.
CoconutPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:54 PM   #9
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Over the range microwave as built in?


if he can build the cabinets, I say go for it.

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't remove Whirlpool Over the range Microwave kzukowski Appliances 14 06-01-2014 12:30 PM
Removing a Sharp over the range microwave bcbowers Building & Construction 7 11-01-2010 06:10 PM
Built in cabinet range hood Richo Electrical 3 03-24-2010 11:10 PM
Over-the-range microwave with high power range? SecretAsianMan Appliances 2 03-08-2010 02:52 PM
Over range microwave install on brick backsplash passportsf Appliances 3 02-01-2008 03:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.