Over The Range Microwave - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2009, 03:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Over the range Microwave


I want to install a over the range microwave. But just looking at it, i think the micro wave will be to low. is there a way to move the cabinet above the range up so that the microwave isn't to low? Thanks

Advertisement

geeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 04:01 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Over the range Microwave


Do you have air space above the cabinet over the range?
Is it an electric or gas range?
Check with your local Building Inspection department for code.
Check the installation instructions that come with the unit that you're buying.
Mike

Advertisement

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 04:47 PM   #3
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Over the range Microwave


If you have room, yes you can move it. The tops will not match the others. May look funny.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:28 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Over the range Microwave


Its a electric range. lots of room above cabinets. thanks for the info guys.
geeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 08:55 PM   #5
SDC
Member
 
SDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NH
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Over the range Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
If you have room, yes you can move it. The tops will not match the others. May look funny.
A little funny

But it is my house

Over the range Microwave-microwave-001.jpg

Over the range Microwave-microwave-002.jpg
SDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 09:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Over the range Microwave


thanks SDC, thats not bad looking. sure will save counter space gonna do that. mahalo
geeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 07:56 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Over the range Microwave


Thanks so much. I had the exact same issue and had no idea what to do. It worked perfectly.

Advertisement

hswilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't remove Whirlpool Over the range Microwave kzukowski Appliances 14 06-01-2014 12:30 PM
GE Profile over the Range Microwave BrentH Appliances 5 01-08-2009 11:25 PM
Range hood and microwave shelf install??? osueric27 HVAC 2 01-05-2009 01:01 AM
Wall vent for over the range microwave JoeClark Building & Construction 3 11-29-2008 01:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts