Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2008, 11:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Question

out with elec cooktop, in with gas


My first post!
I'm pretty handy, but my experience with elec is limited.
I believe I have 220 running to my electric cooktop now. When I install the gas one, I will need 110. Can I easily convert the 220 to 110 by simply replacing the circuit breaker in my box?
I imagine that one could not put 220 through skinny wires, but it seems like it ought to be safe to put 110 through thick wires. Any comments?


Last edited by mathewmarie; 11-08-2008 at 12:14 PM.
mathewmarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 12:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 567
Default

out with elec cooktop, in with gas


typically 220v feed to rangetops is 3wire + gnd,,, for 110 powered sparkers, you only need 2wire + ground, probably 14 wire but i'm NOT an electrician,,, IF & when you want advice on concrete, i'll have a more inclusive answer

suggest you ask in the elec forum OR call an electrician for hookup in the distribution panel,,, in advance, you can run the new wire & attach the receptacle box under the range.

the previous hired remodeler in our house replaced same as you're intending,,, however, he just clipped the 220 line & left it hanging in the basement floor joists - never even turned off the breakers but he got paid & he's gone !

yesitsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 01:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default

out with elec cooktop, in with gas


thanks...
mathewmarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 02:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

out with elec cooktop, in with gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by mathewmarie View Post
skinny wires,
thick wires
Copper wire diameter governs current carrying capacity, insulation thickness governs how much voltage it can insulate against (typically 600v for residential, it will be marked on the outer jacket).

Car battery cables and ignition cables are each about 1/4" dia. One carries 250A at 12v, the other carries 20kV at negligible current.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 03:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 567
Default

out with elec cooktop, in with gas


what a know-it-all showoff yoy is don'cha just hate guys who actually KNOW something ? ? ?
yesitsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 05:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

out with elec cooktop, in with gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by yesitsconcrete View Post
what a know-it-all showoff yoy is
I agree; but, how can I fix this flaw in my character?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Character_flaw

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Cooktop Gap with Counter Mickey53 Appliances 8 07-03-2011 03:27 PM
Kitchen Remodel - Gap around CookTop Mickey53 Remodeling 4 11-08-2008 09:15 PM
need help with a new cooktop m_shel Electrical 9 02-08-2008 09:56 AM
Enlarging cooktop cutout in tile counter glenmorenee Remodeling 2 11-02-2007 10:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.