Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 08:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Hi all

Hoping someone can help.

I am working on an old kenmore range...model 103.7426603

Its my grandma's.she 87, bless her heart, and she is adamant about getting her oven working again. LOL

The top burners light fine but the oven burner doesnt. The oven pilot is lit, and the thermocoupler underneath looks to be Ok, but when you turn the oven gas valve on, nothing....no sound, nothing.

Any ideas?

Thanks all.

shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 09:53 PM   #2
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,514
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


wow, that is a very old oven, you may be out of luck. your oven does not have a thermocouple , it has the old style flame switch, which I'm sure is bad. the really bad news is that part is no laonger available with not substitutions, sorry

hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 07:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Really? That stinks.

Its my grandmother's stove.....would really mean a lot to her if I can get it working again...the thing looks showroom new!

Is it a long-gone part or recently discontinued? Maybe a chance I can find one "somewhere" not sold yet?

Do you think it could be the gas valve unit itself? The little bar of the flame switch that is in the pilot flame looks Ok....so it is the other end (round unit where the wire attaches) that is the issue?

So, with no thermocoupler, what controls the pilot gas being allowed to be on?
shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 01:37 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,880
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Get Grandma a early Christmas Present. Ranges start at around $330 for a low end gas range at Lowe's. You may even be able to find a Scratch & Dent at Sears, Lowe's, Home Depot, local appliance shop.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 03:57 PM   #5
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


here is a pic of a typical oven safety. I think you can still order them


you don't have to get them from sears




kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 04:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Get Grandma a early Christmas Present. Ranges start at around $330 for a low end gas range at Lowe's. You may even be able to find a Scratch & Dent at Sears, Lowe's, Home Depot, local appliance shop.
LOL Already tried that. Lots of sentimental value in it to her.

frankly, todays ranges arent made anywhere NEAR as solid and of such high quality as they were back then. Comparing my 1992 Roper to her 1960-something Kenmore is like night and day.

Its worth repairing if I can find the parts I need.
shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 04:32 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
here is a pic of a typical oven safety. I think you can still order them


you don't have to get them from sears




Thanks! So what is the correct way to test the flame switch to see if thats it or if its the safety/valve you show?
shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 05:01 PM   #8
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,514
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
here is a pic of a typical oven safety. I think you can still order them


you don't have to get them from sears



this is not the type she has, she has a flame switch, big difference
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 05:04 PM   #9
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,514
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Quote:
Originally Posted by shadango View Post
Thanks! So what is the correct way to test the flame switch to see if thats it or if its the safety/valve you show?


do you have a ohm meter?
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 05:06 PM   #10
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
this is not the type she has, she has a flame switch, big difference


She must have elec t.stat then. If that's the case the ones I referenced won't work
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 08:27 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,880
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Quote:
Originally Posted by shadango

LOL Already tried that. Lots of sentimental value in it to her.

frankly, todays ranges arent made anywhere NEAR as solid and of such high quality as they were back then. Comparing my 1992 Roper to her 1960-something Kenmore is like night and day.

Its worth repairing if I can find the parts I need.
There is more deeper, than sentential value on a hunk of metal. Tell her that it is unsafe to use, and that the family is concerned for her safety, due to the unsafe nature of her old stove.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 10:16 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
do you have a ohm meter?
Yes, I do.
shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 10:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
There is more deeper, than sentential value on a hunk of metal. Tell her that it is unsafe to use, and that the family is concerned for her safety, due to the unsafe nature of her old stove.
Why is it unsafe? Seems to me that "something" is doing its job....something has failed and therefore the gas wont start in the oven.
shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 11:08 PM   #14
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,514
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


to do this the flame switch still needs to be hooked up and the pilot lit, just take your ohm meter and ohm acroos the two wires on the flame switch. for safty reasons kill the power to the stove and unhook 1 wire from the switch first. if it reads open it is a bad switch. I'll do a little checking tommorrow to see if there is a cross for this that you can use, I used to use a semi universal one back in the day when I saw these on occasion, but I have not seen or used one of these in probably over 10 - 15 years.
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hardwareman For This Useful Post:
shadango (11-17-2010)
Old 11-15-2010, 04:53 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work


Thanks for your help.

Looking at the schematic, there is only one wire going to the flame switch (137).....there is also a "capacitor" listed that looks to have two wires (#92)....is this what you mean?


shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced lower element in Magic Chef oven still doesn't work sneakyd Appliances 2 12-10-2008 08:51 AM
Oven - junction box in cabinet DIYGST Electrical 5 11-13-2008 03:23 PM
Where are the "Carpenters" ???? wrldruler Carpentry 14 09-11-2008 07:37 AM
HVAC contractor ripoff! sekntonone HVAC 8 04-05-2008 07:15 AM
Gas oven does not work; pilot light on, stovetop works fine kathleentsy Appliances 1 05-22-2007 05:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.