Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2013, 11:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


I have a stacked Kenmore w/d combo Model #41793812200. It fills up with water and agitates just fine, but when it is time to spin down, that's when the problems begin.

The pump pulls out the water, but the tub does not spin. What's more, I have heard a high-pitched whining during this part of the cycle (and yes, my wife was out of the house, so that is eliminated). Additionally, I noticed a slight smell of burnt rubber.

Anyone have any ideas on this one?

Thanks!

sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 08:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


The model # you entered is wrong, please try again.
Your missing the decimal points.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 11:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Busted!

Here it is: 417.93812200

thanks
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Anybody have any thoughts on this? My laundry is starting to pile up...
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,444
Rewards Points: 558
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


2 thoughts.
1) There's a switch on the lid to tell the machine that it's closed before it will spin. The switch might not be engaging.
2) The drive belt is broken or bad. I'm leaning towards this being the issue since you smell rubber and hear squealing during the spin cycle.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Ok - thanks for the ideas.

I do have another question, though: If the belt were bad, then would the washer still be able to agitate? I watched it work and it didn't seem to have any issues during that part of the cycle...

Thanks,
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:54 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl
2 thoughts.
1) There's a switch on the lid to tell the machine that it's closed before it will spin. The switch might not be engaging.
2) The drive belt is broken or bad. I'm leaning towards this being the issue since you smell rubber and hear squealing during the spin cycle.
There would not be a belt on newer units. They are all direct drive, with a transmission and a coupling.

If I had to guess, the transmission is shot, and with that the coupler and rubber pieces will also need to be replaced.

The parts can be found on http://www.repairclinic.com and have them in two to three days. Total time to fix would be around two hours, four if you are really slow.

I have done it in 45 minutes on a stand alone unit by myself.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,444
Rewards Points: 558
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Quote:
Originally Posted by sobro View Post
Ok - thanks for the ideas.

I do have another question, though: If the belt were bad, then would the washer still be able to agitate? I watched it work and it didn't seem to have any issues during that part of the cycle...

Thanks,
Not sure. The agitator could be directly connected to the motor. The easiest way to know is to open it up and see.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:57 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,444
Rewards Points: 558
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
There would not be a belt on newer units. They are all direct drive, with a transmission and a coupling.

The parts can be found on http://www.repairclinic.com and have them in two to three days. Total time to fix would be around two hours, four if you are really slow.
Repairclinic has his model with a belt which is why I suggested it.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:29 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl

Repairclinic has his model with a belt which is why I suggested it.
Thank you. I was on my phone replying, so did not go to repairclinic. If the belt was shot, the unit would do nothing at all.

So next guess would be still the transmission. It would allow for agitating, but if shot, would not go into spin cycle.

Easy way to find out is to move the unit and look for oil or greese spot on the floor.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:04 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


I have had the cover off of the lower unit, and there is definitely a belt. The tension felt reasonable (ie not too loose).

I didn't notice an oil spot, though. Can the transmission go out and not leave any oil on the floor?
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:18 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,444
Rewards Points: 558
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Try running it thru the spin cycle with the cover off an see if the belt is slipping.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:09 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


I will double check it tonight. If I remember correctly, I did run the spin cycle the other night while the cover was off and the belt didn't even attempt to move. If that's the case - transmission?

will report back...
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:47 PM   #14
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


Motor, transmission, coupling, belt would be the three suspects. Otherwise, corrosion at the harness between the two units also could be causing the issue.

Just have to put it all out on the table since not there to see what ia going on.

If you can get a really good video while trying to get it running, helps us if you cannot figure out from the three what is going on.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:53 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,444
Rewards Points: 558
Default

No Spin Cycle - Kenmore


I looked at searspartsdirect and they have assembly diagrams. From what I can tell, the transmission mounts directly to the motor and the transmission drives the agitator. The drive belt is below the motor and spins the drum.

With the machine off, are you able to spin the tub?
Are you able to move the belt with it off?
The washer has a part called a spin bearing. It's possible that it has failed.

__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kenmore, w/d combo, won't spin


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
loud washer knocking/banging noise during spin cycle NABRIL Appliances 0 01-14-2013 02:51 PM
Kenmore Washer stops working at drain point in cycle Eagle One Appliances 19 11-19-2012 01:44 PM
GE Washer vibrates like crazy in Spin Cycle medicpg Appliances 12 04-19-2010 12:36 PM
Maytag washer spin cycle problems. billmac Appliances 1 07-16-2008 05:03 PM
washer spin cycle seems wrong markm Appliances 5 01-04-2008 02:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.