Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2013, 09:48 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Share |
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Howdy

I have a Frigidaire FEF326FS (B?) and am not getting any heat in the oven area. I have tried both the broiler and the oven elements with no success. If I wait long enough, then I can hear some clicking about every minute or so. I am assuming that this is a relay, but I don't know for sure.

Anybody have any thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance!

sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 01:31 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Quote:
Originally Posted by sobro View Post
...am not getting any heat in the oven area.
Start with the basics.
Do you have electricity TO the appliance? (breaker tripped?, plug out, etc)
Do you have electricity IN the appliance? (at the controls, elements, etc)

and so forth.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 04:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Sorry - I guess I got ahead of myself...

I do have power to the appliance and the burners work fine - it's just the elements in the oven that are giving me the problem(s). Actually, it's not even the elements. I have continuity on the bottom element and if I remember correctly, it gave me a reading of about 21.0 Ohms.

I used my meter to determine whether there was any current to the bottom element and I did not find any. I didn't check the leads to the broiler element, though.

So what's next?

Thanks!
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 04:26 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Quote:
Originally Posted by sobro View Post
I have continuity on the bottom element...
But do you have VOLTAGE there?

Pull out the element, turn on the control, read the socket.
If you don't have power then the thermostat is the suspect.

Do you have a wiring schematic in the manual?
If not, get one.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 05:52 PM   #5
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,695
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Not sure this will help you.... but it can't hurt.

I had my oven elements go out on a Fridgidaire Range that was maybe 3 years old about 5 years ago.... right before Xmas.

The elements tested fine.... when I took the back off to the computer relay board and tested... I had power on both legs to this board, but only one leg going out of the board with demand on.

A new board was near $400-500, something rediculous.... found little ol honest Canadian on internet who rebuilds these boards, but did not have one in stock... Nicest guy... he just identified to me the EXACT solder point that breaks on that board... known problem... I had a computer store resolder the break (relay as I recall)... and it's been fine for 5-6 years.

So if it appears to be on that board, put your glasses on and inspect it closely, might save yourself 400-500.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
But do you have VOLTAGE there?

Pull out the element, turn on the control, read the socket.
If you don't have power then the thermostat is the suspect.

Do you have a wiring schematic in the manual?
If not, get one.
I do have a wiring diagram that I found on the back of the stove...Also, when I pulled out the element, I tested for voltage between the leads and found none (didn't test the broiler, but it didn't heat up either)
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Not sure this will help you.... but it can't hurt.

I had my oven elements go out on a Fridgidaire Range that was maybe 3 years old about 5 years ago.... right before Xmas.

The elements tested fine.... when I took the back off to the computer relay board and tested... I had power on both legs to this board, but only one leg going out of the board with demand on.

A new board was near $400-500, something rediculous.... found little ol honest Canadian on internet who rebuilds these boards, but did not have one in stock... Nicest guy... he just identified to me the EXACT solder point that breaks on that board... known problem... I had a computer store resolder the break (relay as I recall)... and it's been fine for 5-6 years.

So if it appears to be on that board, put your glasses on and inspect it closely, might save yourself 400-500.

Thanks for the tip - I am suspecting the board since the broiler isn't working as well. Plus there is no voltage to be found at the two oven element leads...
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:14 PM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Quote:
Originally Posted by sobro View Post
when I pulled out the element, I tested for voltage between the leads and found none...
If you had the control in the on position then it is the problem.
Go back up the line to see how the power is switched.
Directly like an old range or through a relay?
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:21 PM   #9
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,695
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Quote:
Originally Posted by sobro View Post
I do have a wiring diagram that I found on the back of the stove...Also, when I pulled out the element, I tested for voltage between the leads and found none (didn't test the broiler, but it didn't heat up either)

Get in the back panel..... and start testing.... I do remember at first it being a little confusing, because I'm really not familiar/ competant around circut boards... but it will make some sense.... sorry I can't exactly remember that far back exactly what I did, but I bet it's in that circuit board and just a relay connection... not even the relay.... just the connection solder connection.

Strangely, I remember something about this problem related to being made in Mexico... see if yours was made there..... just seems to similar to my issue... which was a known problem of frigidaire, that it seems to be the same thing.

Best
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:33 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
If you had the control in the on position then it is the problem.
Go back up the line to see how the power is switched.
Directly like an old range or through a relay?
I believe that it's through a relay - this isn't the type of oven with the old dials (at least for the oven). It has the little buttons used to set temp, etc. What exactly am I looking for here?
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:34 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Get in the back panel..... and start testing.... I do remember at first it being a little confusing, because I'm really not familiar/ competant around circut boards... but it will make some sense.... sorry I can't exactly remember that far back exactly what I did, but I bet it's in that circuit board and just a relay connection... not even the relay.... just the connection solder connection.

Strangely, I remember something about this problem related to being made in Mexico... see if yours was made there..... just seems to similar to my issue... which was a known problem of frigidaire, that it seems to be the same thing.

Best
I will have a look. Thanks again for the advice!
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:15 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,880
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Had a similar situation recently with our LG wall oven. We live in the woods. A mouse had built a nest inside the control compartment and chewed up a couple of wires. Actually expected to see a dead mouse but there wasn't one there.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 06:08 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


**update**

I finally got around to looking at the control board and once I opened it up, I found that it was black and charred on the inside. A few of the solder joints were melted, etc. After looking for replacement parts, I found this online:

http://www.universalapplianceparts.c...ffbdmgodfnuava


It seems as though this should work, right? Now, do I need to order the plastic piece that goes over the front of this, or should it be fairly easy to remove the old one and slip it onto the new one?

Also, I am hoping that this doesn't occur again...if this is a defect in the actual part, how do I know that the replacement part is any better than the original?

Thanks,
sobro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:51 AM   #14
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,695
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


Sobro..... The part that comes up when I hit the link just says "clock" for $60.... no picture... doubt that is your part.

Also.... I will try to find my paperwork on this range later today. After I had the relay resoldered onto the board, maybe 6 months later?, we had a recall /fix notice.

We had a prepaid service man come out and changed out some of the oven heat venting or something like that.... I never knew if that was directly related to my earlier loose relay.

I'll try sending a picture of my range, or if you are able to post one, to see if they look similar.

Later

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 11:55 AM   #15
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

No oven/broiler heating - Frigidaire


316455400, that is the correct part. Thats a pretty good price. As far as the overlay goes, don't waste your money, gently peel the old one off of your present control.

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
frigidaire, oven won't heat, relays


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a good efficient heating system for cold climates? reveriereptile HVAC 7 02-08-2012 08:26 PM
Any "baseboard' heating that installs on wall? Piedmont Plumbing 2 01-21-2011 05:05 PM
Radiant floor heating questions secutanudu HVAC 35 03-08-2010 01:04 PM
Hydrokientix Heating System Not Heating damonl73 HVAC 11 12-18-2009 05:12 PM
Electrical consumption of baseboard heater CowboyAndy Electrical 7 03-24-2008 07:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.