Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2011, 06:21 PM   #1
Home improvement newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 12
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


I'm trying to get this GE Profile cooktop to stop clicking, but one of the igniters just keeps clicking (fast clicks) whenever I plug the cooktop in. This has been ongoing for months (I've just manually been lighting the stove). Today I tried replacing the harness on the knobs and the module inside...still same issue. I then purchased a new igniter, replaced the clicking one and still same problem. I tried taking the new igniter and swapping with each igniter with no luck.

Does anybody have any other ideas as to what I can do to fix this?

callmedpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:39 PM   #2
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,563
Rewards Points: 1,036
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


you have replaced the burner switches??

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hardwareman For This Useful Post:
del schisler (11-15-2011)
Old 11-08-2011, 01:14 PM   #3
Home improvement newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 12
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
you have replaced the burner switches??
That's the plastic squares that the knobs actually attach on? If so, yes, those were replaced...along with the module they connect to.
callmedpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:38 PM   #4
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,563
Rewards Points: 1,036
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


Quote:
Originally Posted by callmedpit View Post
That's the plastic squares that the knobs actually attach on? If so, yes, those were replaced...along with the module they connect to.
+
yes those are the burner switches. did you get them snapped all the way onto the burner valve
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hardwareman For This Useful Post:
del schisler (11-15-2011)
Old 11-09-2011, 09:54 AM   #5
Home improvement newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 12
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
+
yes those are the burner switches. did you get them snapped all the way onto the burner valve
Yes, as far as I know they are all the way down. Is there anything else that could be causing a problem?
callmedpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 08:33 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


Short on the wiring. How old is the unit? Our stove that we got with our house, that was not even eight years old, had a control board replaced a year ago, and then started acting up, in that the oven & broiler would not light. I ended up cutting our losses and just getting a new stove. I was not going through the hassle to deal with the old one anymore and felt that sinking about another $200.00 into something that was not even worth $500.00 for the age and how much it was used.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 12:21 PM   #7
Home improvement newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 12
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Short on the wiring. How old is the unit? Our stove that we got with our house, that was not even eight years old, had a control board replaced a year ago, and then started acting up, in that the oven & broiler would not light. I ended up cutting our losses and just getting a new stove. I was not going through the hassle to deal with the old one anymore and felt that sinking about another $200.00 into something that was not even worth $500.00 for the age and how much it was used.
The stove is only about 4 years old. It came with the house that was built in late 2007.
callmedpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 12:45 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


If you have replaced everything conceivable, and it is still not working, you really may have no choice but to cut your losses and buy a new stove.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:24 AM   #9
Home improvement newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 12
Default

No matter what I do, GE Profile cooktop keeps clicking...


For anybody else that his this issue. It ended up being the burner switch was on the wrong way, once that was fixed all was good!

Thanks for the help on here guys, love this site!

callmedpit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to callmedpit For This Useful Post:
del schisler (11-15-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing kitchen cooktop. Devilsid Carpentry 7 09-08-2011 12:32 AM
Cooktop cut-out accuracy... jdrunbike Appliances 5 04-13-2011 11:46 PM
Electric Cooktop too slow to heat coachgns Appliances 1 02-05-2011 04:45 PM
Cooktop color? hgtv Interior Decorating 2 07-21-2010 12:49 AM
Water baseboards generating clicking noise Dezso3 Plumbing 1 01-15-2010 08:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.