Moving The Cable Jack - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2016, 08:35 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 97
Default

Moving the cable jack


Not sure where I should place this thread (here or electrical?) but here it goes.

In our new house we have a cable jack on the east wall of the living room. How do we move it to the west wall easily?

I'm trying to avoid cutting holes in the ceiling or ripping off carpet, etc. There is nothing connecting the west wall to the exterior walls. So I can't run a cable along the baseboards.

Is there a device where I can plug the cable jack in and broadcast to another jack on the opposite wall? What's it called? Anyone use one of these?

Thanks!

Advertisement


Last edited by edta1; 06-03-2016 at 08:39 AM.
edta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 11:30 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 3,833
Rewards Points: 5,830
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Call your cable company to move this.

In my area the cable company gets irate when anyone other than their technician touches their cable.

Most cable companies will rent you a WIRELESS connection also, to send the signal to another place in your home.

ED

Advertisement

de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 12:08 PM   #3
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,290
Rewards Points: 664
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


If you don't want to drill holes yourself, call the cable company. They usually charge a small amount to install a new cable outlet/jack.

The way to do it is to go below (basement) or above (attic) the wall and drill directly through into the wall. Then fish a cable through the hole to the existing jack location and install a splitter. Now you have an active cable run. Find the wall you want your new jack, cut a hole for the jack location and again fish the wire from the basement/attic to the hole where you are installing the new outlet.

If you don't have access above or below the room, this project will be more complicated and you're probably best served by renting a wireless cable box.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 12:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 97
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by hyunelan2 View Post
If you don't want to drill holes yourself, call the cable company. They usually charge a small amount to install a new cable outlet/jack.

The way to do it is to go below (basement) or above (attic) the wall and drill directly through into the wall. Then fish a cable through the hole to the existing jack location and install a splitter. Now you have an active cable run. Find the wall you want your new jack, cut a hole for the jack location and again fish the wire from the basement/attic to the hole where you are installing the new outlet.

If you don't have access above or below the room, this project will be more complicated and you're probably best served by renting a wireless cable box.
YUP. And that's the problem. We are on a slab basement. So we can't go down. Upstairs is a bedroom, not an attic. Other option would be to pop holes in our living room ceiling and run a cable? That or go wireless.

We don't plan on getting cable TV. We want to use the traditional fishbone antennae.
edta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 05:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Tizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Richmond Va.
Posts: 387
Rewards Points: 400
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Around here, Comcast restrings coaxial cable along the outside of the home then bores a hole through. Charge a small fee I think. Most of the time they'll send a self- install kit that you do yourself.
Or you can install the wireless modem on the east wall and live with it.
Tizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 06:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Missouri "Bootheel"
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 120
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Just a thought .... but will "Chromecast" do this?

Chromecats is a $35 gizmo that lets your computer 'broadcast' to your TV. I get my internet through the cable company. So ... maybe the geeks have the answer.

I'd visit BestBuy and ask the folks there ...
KarenStein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 09:53 AM   #7
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,290
Rewards Points: 664
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by edta1 View Post
We don't plan on getting cable TV. We want to use the traditional fishbone antennae.
If you just need an antenna on the TV, put a single antenna behind the TV. There are plenty of hidden models out there. Don't even mess with running wires back to the main house antenna - unless you are extremely rural and need a SETI-sized array to get a signal.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 11:14 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 97
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by hyunelan2 View Post
If you just need an antenna on the TV, put a single antenna behind the TV. There are plenty of hidden models out there. Don't even mess with running wires back to the main house antenna - unless you are extremely rural and need a SETI-sized array to get a signal.
This might be an option. I just question how good they are. I don't think I've ever found one that picks up signals as well as the outdoor fishbone type.

I am in the suburb of Chicago. Not living in a high-rise downtown. Definitely a ways away from Willis Tower.
edta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 12:17 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 32
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Do you have carpet or hardwood floors?
bondra76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 12:58 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 97
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by bondra76 View Post
Do you have carpet or hardwood floors?
Its carpet.
edta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 06:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Missouri "Bootheel"
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 120
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Fishbone antenna?

I thought all TV went digital in the 90's, so the old TV's and antennae became completely useless. Am I wrong?

"Digital" TV uses a different type of antenna. New TV's come 'digital ready.' More and more, the cable company is becoming a 'must' ... for cable, regular TV, internet access, and house phone as well.

"Dish TV" is basically cable by way of a satellite, while 'Quadravision" was a digital transmission of cable TV.

Personally? I stopped using ordinary TV -regular and cable- long ago. Whatever programming I want is available over the internet.
KarenStein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 07:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 934
Rewards Points: 1,334
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


This should do the job for you.

https://www.amazon.com/ClearStream-E...g=thewire06-20

It's one of the top rated indoor antennas.

No, I have noting to do with that company, and it may not do the job, but in your situation, it might be the best route to try.

Since you're not going to get cable, the cable company would very doubfully be interested in "helping you out" in any manner. Besides, most do really bad work.
ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 11:13 AM   #13
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,290
Rewards Points: 664
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by KarenStein View Post
Fishbone antenna?

I thought all TV went digital in the 90's, so the old TV's and antennae became completely useless. Am I wrong?

"Digital" TV uses a different type of antenna. New TV's come 'digital ready.' More and more, the cable company is becoming a 'must' ... for cable, regular TV, internet access, and house phone as well.

"Dish TV" is basically cable by way of a satellite, while 'Quadravision" was a digital transmission of cable TV.

Personally? I stopped using ordinary TV -regular and cable- long ago. Whatever programming I want is available over the internet.
This is mostly incorrect. An antenna is an antenna. Being an "HDTV" antenna is mainly a marketing gimmick. What has changed is the technology to decode the signal, which is inside the TV. If you have a TV from 1995, no antenna is going to work for you, and you'll need a digital decoder.

I am about 45 miles outside of Chicago. I have a large antenna I put in the attic of the garage, which does no better than the small antenna I have for a distant TV. The big difference maker is to put a signal amplifier on the antenna. Most decent antennas come with this, otherwise you can purchase it separately. Those make a much bigger difference than a different antenna from my experience.

The "Moho Leaf" antenna is a very highly rated antenna, and comes designed for a variety of ranges from 30, 50, 60 miles IIRC.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 12:48 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Thumbs up

Re: Moving the cable jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by hyunelan2 View Post
This is mostly incorrect. An antenna is an antenna. Being an "HDTV" antenna is mainly a marketing gimmick. What has changed is the technology to decode the signal, which is inside the TV. If you have a TV from 1995, no antenna is going to work for you, and you'll need a digital decoder.

I am about 45 miles outside of Chicago. I have a large antenna I put in the attic of the garage, which does no better than the small antenna I have for a distant TV. The big difference maker is to put a signal amplifier on the antenna. Most decent antennas come with this, otherwise you can purchase it separately. Those make a much bigger difference than a different antenna from my experience.

The "Moho Leaf" antenna is a very highly rated antenna, and comes designed for a variety of ranges from 30, 50, 60 miles IIRC.
I couldn't agree more.....I dumped cable TV and now have a wire that splits into a "V" for an antenna and get about 30 channels. This works better than the "digital" antenna I bought (but I do use an amplifier)>

Sub
subbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 01:30 PM   #15
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 10,106
Rewards Points: 7,504
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Re: Moving the cable jack


as hyun correctly stated, digital, analog, HDTV...what ever....an antenna is an antenna. They have a specific frequency range they work in. If you have an old UHF/VHF antenna, it will work just fine. Though I would suggest upgrading your coax to RG6.

We have been using OTA for years. The wife and kids spend a whole lot less time parked in front of the TV watching garbage. If there is something we really want to watch, it's DVD, Redbox or Netflix.

Or, the boys and I get out the chess board and have a friendly game....though, they are not so friendly now. My 12 year old is starting to kick my a$$.
sleepyg likes this.

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Tray Cable acceptable for Residential use? MisterSteve Electrical 43 02-21-2012 12:35 AM
Adding phone jack simbey1982 Electrical 22 01-17-2012 04:40 PM
Installing a new phone jack. Which wiring to use for only 6ft? Help! romo218 Electrical 18 10-03-2009 10:20 PM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 06:55 AM
Installing a new phone jack. Which wiring to use for only 6ft? Help! romo218 General DIY Discussions 2 06-17-2009 04:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1