Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2006, 01:47 PM   #1
reluctant handyman
 
diggitydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


In the past few months, I have noticed a lot of moisture accumulating in our refrigerator (especially on the top shelf under the freezer). The unit is a Whirlpool Gold top freezer (believe it is the 21.7 cubic foot model).

I went into the freezer and found a layer of ice about 1/4" thick under the bottom pull out shelf. I removed the lower shelf, scraped away this ice, and thinking the water was coming from a leaking icemaker, closed the shutoff valve on the water supply line.

I have repeated the ice removal process several times thinking the icemaker would need to pull all of the water out of the line from the shutoff valve (about 15 feet).

Still, with the water supposedly shutoff to the icemaker, water is still accumulating and ice continues to form on the bottom of the freezer. Some of this water is leaking down onto the top shelf in the fridge and causing condensation throughout. I'm catching most of the water in the fridge in tupperware containers, and from what I can tell I'm getting a few fluid ounces of water per day.

Any ideas as to where this water can be coming from? Is the unit not defrosting correctly? Could a drain tube be clogged? Is the water supply (though shutoff) still leaking?

Thanks in advance,
Dave

diggitydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 10:43 PM   #2
Member
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 283
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Hi,

Quote:
The unit is a Whirlpool Gold top freezer (believe it is the 21.7 cubic foot model)
Model#?
http://www.applianceaid.com/model.html Some model# helps.

Quote:
Still, with the water supposedly shutoff to the icemaker, water is still accumulating and ice continues to form on the bottom of the freezer
Defrost drain may be clogged/restricted and some of the defrost water is spilling out and freezing in the freezer.

http://www.applianceaid.com/frig_leaking.html

jeff.

__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 08:38 AM   #3
reluctant handyman
 
diggitydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 20
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Sorry, Jeff1, I lied. All of the other kitchen appliances (range, microwave, dishwasher) are Whirlpool Gold series, but the fridge is a Kenmore Elite ColdSpot 106.70204990 serial EK4016740 with a manufacture date of 09-2000. I wasn't at home when I posted this, so I was taking a guess. Should've verified first.

Are there any specific issues with the defrost drain on these Kenmore models?

Thanks for the reply.
Dave
diggitydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 01:27 PM   #4
Member
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 283
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Quote:
Are there any specific issues with the defrost drain on these Kenmore models?
Yupper...most are now hidden between the walls. Can only access the beginning ( in the freezer, tray under the evaporator/cooling coils ) and the exit ( at the back bottom ) at the condensate pan.

Might/should be able to flush out the drain with hot water, turkey baster, cable wire, etc, to make sure it is clear and clean.

Quote:
Sorry, Jeff1, I lied


jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 03:24 PM   #5
reluctant handyman
 
diggitydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 20
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Hi Jeff, thanks for the info.

Sounds like a good project to get at sometime this weekend.

I'll let you know how it goes.
Dave
diggitydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 10:19 PM   #6
Member
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 283
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Quote:
I'll let you know how it goes
Great!

jeff.
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 09:31 AM   #7
reluctant handyman
 
diggitydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 20
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Jeff,

I got a little antsy last night, and decided not to wait for the weekend.

Quote:
Defrost drain may be clogged/restricted and some of the defrost water is spilling out and freezing in the freezer.
You were exactly right. The defrost drain was frozen solid several inches under the evaporator pan in the freezer.

Quote:
Might/should be able to flush out the drain with hot water, turkey baster, cable wire, etc, to make sure it is clear and clean.
Thanks for the tips!

I was able to get it clear with hot water from the turkey baster. After many blasts with hot water and suctioning out the cold water, a bit of water began to make it down to the condensate pan. Then, I used a heavy cable to clear it all out, and snaked it all the way through several times. Finally, I blasted several large doses of hot water through there to be sure it was clear.

So far so good, I checked this morning and the fridge is free from all that excessive condensation. Much drier in there.

One question remains, though. Was this a fluke thing to have the drain freeze up? From what I can tell there was no debris other than ice (no frozen pea or corn kernel). Is this indicative of a larger problem with the defrost mechanism, or is it just something that happens every once in awhile?

I also used the opportunity to clean out all of the dust, pet hair, etc that has collected in the lower cabinet. For all these years, I just took my various refrigerators for granted without knowing anything about them. Very interesting to learn a bit about their design on the links you provided.

Thanks again for all of your help, it is very much appreciated.
diggitydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 10:53 PM   #8
Member
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 283
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Quote:
Was this a fluke thing to have the drain freeze up? From what I can tell there was no debris other than ice (no frozen pea or corn kernel). Is this indicative of a larger problem with the defrost mechanism, or is it just something that happens every once in awhile?
Sometimes air borne dust will get into the drain and cause a restriction....other times nothing is to blame except design....
http://www.applianceaid.com/defrost_drain_freezes.html

Quote:
I also used the opportunity to clean out all of the dust, pet hair, etc that has collected in the lower cabinet
Good idea!!
http://www.applianceaid.com/clean_condenser.html

Thankx for the update!

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 12:53 PM   #9
reluctant handyman
 
diggitydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 20
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Thanks for all of your help Jeff.

Hopefully it doesn't freeze up again, but if it does, I'll install a Whirlpool 819043 heat probe (thanks for the web link) after cleaning out the ice build up. According to my web searches, this heat probe is compatible with the 106.xxxx Kenmore models as they were manufactured by Whirlpool.

Thanks again and keep up the good work. You offer a great service for those of us with minor appliance problems that don't want to call in the pros.
diggitydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 03:52 PM   #10
Member
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 283
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Quote:
Hopefully it doesn't freeze up again
Fingers crossed

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 04:42 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Does the fridge have to be unplugged before you put some water down the drain? If it does, how long before I can plug it back in? This is a GE refrigerator with the freezer
on top.

Last edited by sjayala; 10-24-2006 at 04:45 PM.
sjayala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 05:21 PM   #12
Member
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 283
Default

moisture in fridge/freezer


Hi,

Quote:
Does the fridge have to be unplugged before you put some water down the drain?
Does it have to be...no.
Should it be unplugged...yes, safer that way.

Quote:
If it does, how long before I can plug it back in?
Once cleaned out and tested to be ok, plug it back in.

jeff.

__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Moisture Barrier or Not to Moisture Barrier? cordon Flooring 7 05-22-2007 09:48 PM
moisture barrier - help! jediracer Carpentry 12 10-03-2006 06:32 PM
Concrete slab weeps moisture dale h Flooring 2 04-30-2005 10:29 AM
Moisture and Mold problem Vin HVAC 1 02-24-2005 05:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.