Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2009, 09:41 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Share |
Default

Microwave venting


I just received my new over the range microwave and there are two blower holes and they are not where the old one was, as per what my contractor told me.

My family who is helping me keeps telling me to not bother and just make it recirculate the air, but I don't want to do this, what's the point in having an over the range then?

The existing vent is a metal duct that is inside the wall, I'm thinking of just removing the drywall where the vent goes up and just cut the required holes in the vent so it matches up, then use vapour barrier and red tape to seal off everything but those two holes and make sure it's snug against the microwave. Is this the right way to go about it? Are minor air leaks ok, or could that lead to mold and other issues due to venting out steam and what not?

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 06:41 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Microwave venting


no leaks. Use metal duct tape that you can find in the duct section of you local box store. Microwave vent connections can be changed on the unit to vent up or through the wall. Also you can adapt them to vent only via the internal filter.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 09:56 AM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Microwave venting


I never really worked with ducting before, anything I should know, tools i need etc? I'm guessing just cutters and a rivet gun? I have an air compressor for the gun.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 12:46 PM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Microwave venting


no rivets needed. One piece slides into the other and get taped with Duct tape. Which is where the name changed when houses needed AC after WWII from DUCK Tape used to seal ammo cans to be water tight. if you need to make custom pieces you will need a crimping tool which makes the one duct slide into the other.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 01:58 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Microwave venting


Yeah I need to totally customize it, the vent on the wall is too low and big for the microwave, I need raise it (cut drywall then modify vent) and make sure there is a tight fit on the microwave.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:02 PM   #6
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Microwave venting


Got to my house and saw it was installed, and contractor told me he took vented it outside. Saves me from doing it. :p

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microwave ground prong sparks/melts upon plugging it in microwaveman Electrical 30 05-10-2009 10:30 PM
Venting a microwave to the outside K&Sremod HVAC 6 02-08-2009 09:30 PM
OTR Microwave installation bfarber Appliances 3 12-22-2008 07:55 PM
Venting OTR microwave smallcrpt Remodeling 3 11-11-2008 05:02 PM
Microwave Outlet Move Rsinc25 Electrical 3 11-22-2007 03:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.