Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2011, 01:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Microwave input panel barely works


What is with the low quality crap being sold today? Our microwave is less than 3 years old, and today when I went to start it up, I found I could barely get it to accept any input. I had to mash the "button" locations. (No buttons, flatness where the "buttons" are) I doubt there's much I can do, but on the outside chance this sounds familiar to someone who can guide me through, I figured I'd put it here, lest I go tromping off to the store to buy yet another item that's destined to be dead before the middle of the decade. Grrrr.

OurHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:04 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,281
Rewards Points: 2,224
Default

Microwave input panel barely works


Sounds more like abuse & over use of the appliance. We have a microwave that is a little over three years old, and have never had any problems. For some people, their mileage may vary.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Microwave input panel barely works


It used to be that you could buy a microwave that would last for years. Like the old stainless amana radar range. At todays prices that microwave would be close to $1000. You would get 10 years out of it. But people want cheap. So you can get a Peoples republic of Walmart microwave for $50. Lasts one year.
I have been using a sharp brand inverter microwave for the last 6 years. It costs $180, but seems to be a good product.

What I really want is one of those flash toasters like subway has. Its only $3500....
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:12 PM   #4
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Microwave input panel barely works


I'll clue you in on todays microwaves, of all the appliances the microwave has become the most disposal cheap piece of crap. I don't care if you buy a $50.00 one or a $500.00 one with all the bells and whistles, they are just sh**. Some last 1 year and some last 10 no matter how much use they get.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Microwave input panel barely works


*sigh* New microwave it is
OurHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel clearance question Red Squirrel Electrical 2 05-09-2011 09:53 PM
Splitting your input before your house panel? Jim Johnstone Electrical 22 04-09-2011 11:23 AM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
2 way panel light switch on my Whirlpool Microwave - stopped working properly. MikeMcGreevy Appliances 0 01-27-2010 10:27 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.