Microwave - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 03:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

microwave


can you install a large microwave with just thew plate on the back of the unit.

Advertisement

coynena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 04:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,774
Rewards Points: 664
Default

microwave


If your talking about an over a range micoway then NO way.
All the weights on the front and must be through bolted through a cabinet from above. It takes two peope just to install one there so heavy.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 02:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

microwave


The cabinet seems to weak to hold the microwave.
coynena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 02:59 PM   #4
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,580
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

microwave


absolutely not. your cabinet may be weak but it doesn't need to support much of the weight, the back wall bracket does most of the load carrying
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hardwareman For This Useful Post:
coynena (05-30-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing old hood with over-the-range microwave Nathan0115 Electrical 21 07-27-2012 04:37 PM
Replacing a OTR Microwave that Vents Outside lydiainflorida Appliances 1 03-29-2012 03:03 PM
over-the-range microwave problem aumanpj Appliances 6 12-04-2010 06:46 PM
Microwave ground prong sparks/melts upon plugging it in microwaveman Electrical 30 05-10-2009 11:30 PM
OTR Microwave installation bfarber Appliances 3 12-22-2008 08:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts