Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2008, 01:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Maytag Washer and GFI


I have a Maytag Atlantis washer and ever since I had my house rewired and had GFI's installed in the basement, I've noticed my washing machine would stop before the rinse cycle. The washer will fill with water then when it goes into rinse it trips the GFI. Does anyone know what may be causing this? I have heard that GFI's are not good for appliances, but this is about 3 feet from my stationary tub and I want the extra protection. I wonder if something is leaking internally when the washer fills with water, any other ideas? Thanks for the responses.

mwarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:07 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Maytag Washer and GFI


I have had the same problem had to remove the GFI. With most codes it's not required for a dedicated recepticle.

bieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 11:28 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Maytag Washer and GFI


I thought it may be the GFI receptacle but I tried it in a regular outlet and am still having the same issues. I think it may be some corrosion or internal connection, at this point I have ruled out the receptacle being the issue.
mwarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 04:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Maytag Washer and GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by mwarken View Post
I thought it may be the GFI receptacle but I tried it in a regular outlet and am still having the same issues. I think it may be some corrosion or internal connection, at this point I have ruled out the receptacle being the issue.
Are you sure that your receptacle is not GFCI protected by an upstream GFCI receptacle?
When the washer stops, can you measure the voltage at the receptacle to check whether it is the power that is shutting off, or something inside the washer?
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.