Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-12-2011, 11:55 AM   #1

Share |

Line from fridge compressor frosting over

The line from my fridge compressor to the freezer compartment has been frosting over and dripping onto the kitchen floor.

I'm a novice at this but would rather avoid calling a repariman if it is easy to fix. Any tips?

Fridge is a Kenmore Model 106 side by side refrigerator and is about 7 years old.

igbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 12:17 PM   #2
#1 HAWKEYE FAN

has the compressor been changed at some point ? the most likely cause of the suction line frosting all the way back to the compressor is an over charge of refrigerant. If that is not the case then I would look at excessively long run times and or evap fan motor not working. What are the temps?

Old 09-12-2011, 12:26 PM   #3

In January, a relay switch for the compressor was replaced and the refrigerant recharged. Since then it definitely does run more than it should, often for long stretches of time.

The internal temperature at this point is fine on each side. I don't have a thermometer to measure but I can't sense any decrease on either side.
Old 09-12-2011, 12:52 PM   #4

I just took a couple of pictures of the issue. You can see that the frost doesn't actually make its way to the compressor, but nearly all of the line from the freezer to the point shown in the picture is frosted.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/638/img1639es.jpg/
Old 09-12-2011, 01:26 PM   #5
#1 HAWKEYE FAN

Quote:
Originally Posted by igbomb View Post
In January, a relay switch for the compressor was replaced and the refrigerant recharged.
theres your problem, it was overcharged. Was it low or why exactly did they recharge it?
Old 09-12-2011, 02:23 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
theres your problem, it was overcharged. Was it low or why exactly did they recharge it?