Kitchenaid Range Fusing? - Appliances - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2011, 06:52 PM   #16
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


you use the supplied voltage, which is 240 volts.

-
Quote:
there are two 120 vac legs
While you can read 120 volts to ground to either leg, reading leg to leg (which is what is powering the heating element) you will see 240 volts. That is all that matters.

it should come out somewhere around 9 amps.

Advertisement


Last edited by nap; 01-15-2011 at 06:54 PM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 07:30 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
you use the supplied voltage, which is 240 volts.

-While you can read 120 volts to ground to either leg, reading leg to leg (which is what is powering the heating element) you will see 240 volts. That is all that matters.

it should come out somewhere around 9 amps.

2400/240=10 amps ..give or take due to anomalies in rated element wattage and supply voltage.

Barring the use of a clamp-on ammeter (to see what the actual draw is), a good starting point may be a 10 amp fuse link for that 14 awg 120 vac wire at the electronic panel ?
Daler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:04 PM   #18
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


I would go up a step. Ambient temp is likely to come into play.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:16 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I would go up a step. Ambient temp is likely to come into play.
..ok. howabout using a thermal fuse as seems it's common use on certain brands of ranges.
Daler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 10:03 PM   #20
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


I have serious doubts as what you are seeing is actually a fuse more likely it is just a circuit trace
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 10:07 PM   #21
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


btw that board here would run you a little over $300.00
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 01:02 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
I have serious doubts as what you are seeing is actually a fuse more likely it is just a circuit trace
So then, where how is this unit (see attached YKESC307 print) and it's pricey pc panel are protected?

Because the pc foil ruptured between the bake relay and it's output molex plug, it seems logical that that hunk of solder streaked foil was the fusible link
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Range001.pdf (92.8 KB, 58 views)
Daler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 03:58 PM   #23
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daler View Post
So then, where how is this unit (see attached YKESC307 print) and it's pricey pc panel are protected?

Because the pc foil ruptured between the bake relay and it's output molex plug, it seems logical that that hunk of solder streaked foil was the fusible link
ok, how exactly did that "link" protect your pcb?? seems very illogical that a fusible link to protect your pcb would be part of your pcb since if that link blows you must replace the pcb anyway.

most if not all ranges built now have NO protection of any kind, the only protection I've ever seen on a free standing range was a few high end Kitchen Aid models that had a fusible link in the wiring harness. Take it for what its worth.
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:10 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
ok, how exactly did that "link" protect your pcb?? seems very illogical that a fusible link to protect your pcb would be part of your pcb since if that link blows you must replace the pcb anyway.

most if not all ranges built now have NO protection of any kind, the only protection I've ever seen on a free standing range was a few high end Kitchen Aid models that had a fusible link in the wiring harness. Take it for what its worth.
Another repair guy says it is common if not normal to replace the pc panel along with the bake element ..duh, that's a pretty expensive maintenance duo!

So what is alluded to here is that the pc board itself is the range secondary protection?

It's really hard to believe that Kitchenaid would not protect some of its prime electrics via a fused device (like all those old stoves, etc). And yes, there is a large fusible link at the mains block in the rear.

Even so I still think that hunk of pc foil was the weakest link and was protecting that circuit by the fact that it ruptured here (see attached -- sorry for the pq) :
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchenaid range fusing?-board_blowout.jpg  
Daler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:33 PM   #25
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daler View Post
Another repair guy says it is common if not normal to replace the pc panel along with the bake element ..duh, that's a pretty expensive maintenance duo!

:
I've been doing this a very long time, I've probably replaced hundreds of pcbs on ranges and probably thousands of heating elements, on RARE occasions when the bake element burns out it can take the pcb with it but that is very very rare and it is not common practice to replace the pcb with the element unless they are trying real hard to rake you over the coals
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 06:14 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
I've been doing this a very long time, I've probably replaced hundreds of pcbs on ranges and probably thousands of heating elements, on RARE occasions when the bake element burns out it can take the pcb with it but that is very very rare and it is not common practice to replace the pcb with the element unless they are trying real hard to rake you over the coals
So what are we looking at here in the pic (besides my 'fix')? What are all those lines of solder for on the pc circuit foils? ..and why did it blow there instead of somewhere else, huh?
Daler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:43 PM   #27
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


its really hard to tell what I'm looking at there because of your fix but I can almost gaurantee it is not a fuse, a pix from the other side would be more telling
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:43 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
its really hard to tell what I'm looking at there because of your fix but I can almost gaurantee it is not a fuse, a pix from the other side would be more telling

Here are a couple more pics:

1) closeup of rear pc patch (pretty ugly solder job but best I could do under the circumstances -- mechanically ok though)
2) front side (4-wire molex connector for elements, on left) violet = outer broil, black=convection ring, blue=inner broil, red=bake(the one at issue)

Those wires seem awfully small guage to be carrying 20~30 amps ..?


..thanks for this help
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchenaid range fusing?-pc_board_rear.jpg   Kitchenaid range fusing?-pc_board_front.jpg  

Last edited by Daler; 01-16-2011 at 09:56 PM.
Daler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:12 PM   #29
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


should have used a solid wire.


can you locate that in your schematic? Either my eyes are real fuzzy or the image is and I am having trouble reading anything well enough to find where in the schematic your situation is.

Last edited by nap; 01-16-2011 at 11:15 PM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:39 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchenaid range fusing?


now repaired -- thanks

Advertisement


Last edited by Daler; 01-30-2011 at 07:57 PM.
Daler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop in range versus self standing for narrow area sbrink Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 6 01-21-2011 11:17 AM
Moving Electric Range Plug dmartins Electrical 3 11-23-2010 08:48 AM
Backdraft, Cold Air and Ice from Range Hood and Bath Fan Passion4Heels HVAC 13 08-19-2010 08:00 PM
Had a new electric range installed in my apartment - does this sound right? SAABturboDRIVR Electrical 15 01-02-2010 06:39 AM
Ignition Problem with KitchenAid Gas Range dataflux Appliances 4 11-08-2009 06:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts