Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2013, 07:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 32
Share |
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


Kitchen Aid Superba
Model: KUDS24SEB1

Hi Guys,

Dishwasher is about 13 years old and when trying to start, the initial cycle works and water fills the dishwasher, but then nothing further happens. No sound whatsoever.

I tried to use the diagnostic by alternatively hitting the high temp/energy save buttons and it goes through the lights flashing, but nothing else happens. The water stays filled at the bottom and does not drain.

Any ideas?
Thanks for your help
Jay

jay235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 07:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,876
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


http://www.repairclinic.com/RepairHe...roubleshooting

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 02:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


Doing some further diagnostic on the unit -Here is what I am seeing:

I removed the bottom panel and pulled out the 2 wires going to the motor. Then put the dishwasher in the auto diagnostic mode (which makes it go through the cycles), I am seeing only 104VAC going to the motor and not 120V.
Could this be my issue? Does it mean a bad control board?

Jay
jay235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 03:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


Pulled off the control board and on the back I see a the solder to a relay is all burnt. Will try to replace and resolder a new relay.
jay235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 03:59 PM   #5
K&B Designer
 
Live_Oak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis,. TN
Posts: 350
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


Jay, it's 13 years old. Time for a new one. And you'll be amazed at how quiet the new ones are! Even mid range DWs are quiet and efficient these days.
__________________
Do it right from the beginning if you only want to do the job once. It'll be cheaper in the long term.
Live_Oak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 04:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


I know. But it's all about DIY. Fixing it for $2 and seeing it if it lasts another 10 years is the name of the game.

Besides, there are no guarantees that buying a new one will last.
jay235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 04:50 PM   #7
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,376
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


Quote:
Originally Posted by jay235 View Post
Pulled off the control board and on the back I see a the solder to a relay is all burnt. Will try to replace and resolder a new relay.
If that doesn't work may have to replace board. Hey worth a shot, you got nothing to lose and you may get lucky. Hope everything works out for you.
jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 05:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


Thanks Jmon. My thoughts exactly.
jay235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:35 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


I was able to remove the old relay from the control board and solder in a new one. DW is working now.
jay235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 09:58 AM   #10
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,376
Default

Kitchen Aid Dishwasher doesn't cycle/drain


Amazing. Great job.

jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Bathrooms and a Kitchen KevinACrider Project Showcase 16 10-31-2011 06:03 AM
Replacement of existing drain pipe from Kitchen and dishwasher RogerM Plumbing 1 10-13-2011 01:48 PM
Dishwasher connection and wiring, oh boy! Bigplanz Electrical 18 06-15-2011 09:52 PM
smell in basement from non-vented kitchen sink ahgill Plumbing 3 10-11-2010 02:39 PM
Install a dishwasher in an existing kitchen cabinet shapeshifter Remodeling 9 03-16-2008 01:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.