Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2008, 11:46 AM   #1
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Share |
Default

Kenmore (Whirlpool)DW with dirty top rack


For those familiar with Whirlpool dishwashers-
I have Kenmore model 665.16483300 (Whirlpool) that started acting up (again) with poor cleaning of the top rack dishes. I took apart the lower pump covers and found the inlet masher screen covered with food bits. At first I thought it was just dirty (as it was before) then it came to me to check a few different times after turning the unit on and off. I found the blade mashing the screen was not turning as it was supposed to.

After looking over the gear (to the masher) it doesn't appear to be damaged where linking to the motor shaft. This part is easily replaceable. Is it likely that the motor shaft is damaged and how do I go about fixing that- is it a full motor replacement or is just the shaft (or end gear) replaceable?

__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 02:36 PM   #2
Member
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 283
Default

Kenmore (Whirlpool)DW with dirty top rack


Hi,

Check the sump check valve for being deteriated as well.

Quote:
After looking over the gear (to the masher) it doesn't appear to be damaged where linking to the motor shaft. This part is easily replaceable. Is it likely that the motor shaft is damaged and how do I go about fixing that- is it a full motor replacement or is just the shaft (or end gear) replaceable?

Check valve, pump sump


Chopper assembly


Circulation motor and impeller assembly


Wash impeller and seal kit



Or the whole thing...


Pump and motor assembly, circulation

jeff.

__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 05:28 PM   #3
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Default

Kenmore (Whirlpool)DW with dirty top rack


Thanks- I guess I'll have to get deeper into the motor other than just at the chopper level!
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 10:26 PM   #4
Member
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 283
Default

Kenmore (Whirlpool)DW with dirty top rack


This link here may help as well.

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
www.applianceaid.com
JRAppliance
www.jrappliance.ca
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dishwasher - top rack no water pressure jbomber Appliances 5 12-18-2006 04:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.