Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2012, 01:24 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 42
Share |
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


I have a Kenmore electric range with glasstop and 4 burners. One of the burner would not turn on. How do I fix it?

diy1618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 07:46 PM   #2
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


first you have to fugure out is it the switch or the burner itself. Do you own a multimeter and can you use it?

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 42
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


Yes I have a multimeter. Which part should I open to do the measurement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
first you have to fugure out is it the switch or the burner itself. Do you own a multimeter and can you use it?
diy1618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:13 PM   #4
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


the easiest (and safest) would to to gain access to the burner and take a voltage reading there. Lift the glass top, turn the burner switch on high and check for 220 volts to the burner.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 42
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


Any trick to lift the glass top? Or just simply lift it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
the easiest (and safest) would to to gain access to the burner and take a voltage reading there. Lift the glass top, turn the burner switch on high and check for 220 volts to the burner.
diy1618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 07:10 PM   #6
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


Do you have an owner's manual with a parts diagram? The manual may tell you how to open it or you might figure out how from diagram. Using model number you can find diagram on line, either at sears site or googling Kenmore model number parts. hope for a pdf owners manual from sears, some of their diagrams on parts pages are kinda blurry.
__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:06 PM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


most glass tops have 2 or 3 screws on the underside of the glass frame, remove the screws and lift up
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:26 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 42
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


Got it open, thank you.

Now a different question: the glass top in the middle of the burners became whitish (it was black), not sure if it's because I used Comex to soak it too much, is there a way to turn it back to black?

Is it possible to change the glass top, is it worth it?
diy1618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 01:37 PM   #9
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


if it "became whitish" and is not a stain, no way turn it back to black. Sometimes just heat affects flat top ranges, not so much glass ones though. Did you say
" Comet"? That's what did it, and it is not "too much" it is any at all. Do not use abrasives on glass tops, scratches um all up. Glass cleaner, white vinegar, baking soda for "Scrubbin" and nylon scrubbers , there are non-abrasive cleaners, or at least less abrasive, Bar Keepers Friend, Zuds, do they still make Bon-Ami?. but be careful with them too. Products specifically for glass tops, which don't work any better than any other commercial or homade glass cleaner.
You can buy a new top, now that you know how to open it, even change color. is it worth it? Up to you, how much does whitish bother you? I dunno price of new top, but if you have to order new element or control, you might save on shipping.
Be careful pokin around in there with that meter, 240 volts. Turn the breaker off.. You check the elements with ohm meter with power off, and pwer leads disconnected, not with voltage meter and power on! Jeeze! It'll grab hold of you and if it lets go it'll throw you across the room. If element was good and getting power you wouldn't need to check it for voltage. if ohm meter reads infinity, element is shot. You can check the control with ohm meter, disconnect its leads, mite wanta make drawing or take picture if more than two wires, maybe even if just two. Connect meter turn knob to diff settings. Now you can check voltage. I like to use alligator clips. No, that's as far as I wanna go. I bet the element is burned through any way. I don't want you messin with 240 volts uness we got too. I don'tlike messin with it unless I got to. I was once struck by lightning , in the right big toe, s'truth, so help me. So I am extra careful around lectrical stuff.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 03:46 PM   #10
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

Kenmore Range Burner Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by diy1618 View Post
Got it open, thank you.

Now a different question: the glass top in the middle of the burners became whitish (it was black), not sure if it's because I used Comex to soak it too much, is there a way to turn it back to black?

Is it possible to change the glass top, is it worth it?
get the proper cook top cleaner and scrub it, with a little elbow grease it will look like new again. As far as the price to change the top, they usually run around $300.00, so best to just fix your element problem

__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
range kenmore


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older Carrier Pilot Burner Problem cliffkot HVAC 23 04-29-2011 05:58 PM
Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work shadango Appliances 24 11-17-2010 06:45 AM
Bryant Gas pack Burner problem mswirtes HVAC 6 11-09-2010 11:25 AM
Kenmore (Whirlpool) refrig ice maker problem lexort Appliances 16 07-01-2010 02:00 PM
Ignition Problem with KitchenAid Gas Range dataflux Appliances 4 11-08-2009 05:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.