Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2014, 09:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


When I use any cycle the water will go on for about two minutes then stop, about one minute later it kicks on for about one second, repeating that cycle each time. The float is ok , the vent on top of the sink is ok. I took the door apart and cleaned it, it wasn't that dirty. All the while when it is running I smell rotten eggs. I need to get this fixed ASAP. My G.F. is complaining that she has to clean them by hand. After God made My Mother , He threw away the mold ! lol
jetsmell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 10:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,477
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


http://www.repairclinic.com/RepairHe...ll-66516639000
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 11:25 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


What's the difference if my dishwasher is in Oregon or Iowa?
jetsmell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 09:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Johnboy555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 59
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


Because getting "snotty" will get you ignored!
Johnboy555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 04:00 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


I wasn't trying to be a prick. For what it's worth , I live in Cincinnati,Ohio.
jetsmell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 10:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,673
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


Joe's help was in the form of a link to repairclinic.com which looks like it could be helpful. The Location part is just his signature line- on all his posts.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 10:45 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,477
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


In your case with your question location does not matter.
Take the time to look at some of the other post on this and any DIY site.
People could be from any place on the planet and there asking code questions, how much insulation do I need, where they can buy something, ECT.
Without a location how would anyone know the correct answer?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 04:03 AM   #8
Mr
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 12
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


Wow.. This has an excellent selection of wash cycles and wash options that go beyond the basic features. It does not have a small load wash function or a rinse only wash cycle.
MikoMcGreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 09:35 AM   #9
24+ years of fixin'
 
gmaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seabeck, WA
Posts: 145
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


Is the sump and pump clean? If you have a wet/dry vac remove the screen underneath the washarm and vacuum the water out of the sump.
Carefully check the pump entry and see if that is clogged, if it is remove any debris that you can.
How often is the dishwasher run?
As far as the float. have you actually removed it to make sure it doesn't have detergent build up?
gmaint is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 11:34 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


Haven't removed the float, how is that done?
jetsmell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 11:42 AM   #11
24+ years of fixin'
 
gmaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seabeck, WA
Posts: 145
Default

Kenmore Dishwasher- Model #16639000


Sometimes they just lift straight out, othertimes you need to remove the bottom panel (turn power off first) and remove the retaining clip from the float stem.

BTW, I have 2 dishwashers. One on the end of either arm.


Random thought (they happen every now and then) you said the water refills for about a second after the wash cycle starts. How much water do you think the pump picked up to start the cycle? About a seconds worth?
been so long since i have had to deal with dishwashers, i had to wipe the cobwebs off my mind.

Last edited by gmaint; 02-22-2014 at 12:07 PM.
gmaint is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kenmore dishwasher no lights - FIX FYI rich_kildow Appliances 2 02-25-2012 10:18 AM
kenmore portable dishwasher Bman1225 Appliances 2 03-10-2011 08:47 AM
Kenmore Dishwasher won't rinse hamlindp Appliances 2 02-03-2010 11:09 AM
Kenmore dishwasher shoots water out the side! tigerbalm2424 Appliances 7 02-02-2010 07:55 PM
Kenmore Dishwasher henrici5 Plumbing 3 03-24-2009 09:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.