Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2013, 04:49 PM   #1
Novice Handi-schmuck
 
gabrielpanoussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: America
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

janitorial (Goodman) Furnace won't ignite gas


I purchased a used Janitorial (Goodman Furnace) Supposed to be natural gas gmnt080-4 90% 80,000 BTU.

I did not attempt to install until today almost a year later.

I have everything hooked up and it seems to work as it should it just does not ignite. Here is the process...

When I set the thermostat to heat...

1. a click then, a small exhaust fan turns on (this is the fan connected ti the PVC Exhaust)

2. a click then, the igniter receives power and glows red. Exhaust fan is still on.

3. a click then, the gas is released. at this point 15 seconds later the igniter dims and gas shuts off. IT repeats this 3 times and stops. The red LED on the control board of the furnace blinks till you power off or switch the thermostat to off.

When I select fan to on from auto...

1. Larger blower motor kicks on like it should.

Some things I tried,,,

The flexible gas line was rated at 60,000 BTU and was upgraded to a larger diameter line that supports 100,000+ BTU the furnace is 80,000 BTU.

What concerns me....
The 2 thin wires coming out of the gas control valve going nowhere (see pics once uploaded. Are they for AC?)

I can see the remnants of one of those yellow converted to propane stickers. It has been scratched off. Hoping it was converted to LP then back to NG.

I don't know if the fittings are the same on a LP furnace not sure it is physically possible to attach a NG line to something that is LP. So, I'm not sure about this theory.

Orifices I don't know what a natural gas one looks like but I know they matter. Could it have LP orifices? Is some thing else going on? There is a gas valve in place are those valves rated to a certain BTU rating limiting flow?

is going on? Thanks for the help winter is coming.

http://i1321.photobucket.com/albums/...ps2b601ce9.jpg

http://i1321.photobucket.com/albums/...psca8b4a00.jpg

http://i1321.photobucket.com/albums/...ps926fb03d.jpg
http://i1321.photobucket.com/albums/...psc320bce1.jpg
http://i1321.photobucket.com/albums/...psc84a06e8.jpg
http://i1321.photobucket.com/albums/...ps49d84e1c.jpg
http://i1321.photobucket.com/albums/...ps35578575.jpg
http://i1321.photobucket.com/albums/...pse8710dbc.jpg


Last edited by gabrielpanoussi; 10-07-2013 at 05:37 PM. Reason: pics
gabrielpanoussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:31 PM   #2
Novice Handi-schmuck
 
gabrielpanoussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: America
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

janitorial (Goodman) Furnace won't ignite gas


OK problem or one of them is that this ing thing is propane. The guy who sold it lied. Orifice are stamped #55. I drove in the rain out to the country (should have been a clue) to pick this up.

So now I need new orifices and a spring.

I have trouble finding the correct orifice size for my model i think it is #43. Can anyone help?

gabrielpanoussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 09:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,453
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

janitorial (Goodman) Furnace won't ignite gas


best bet is to call johnstone supply they handle goodman..or check on line for the parts you need....welcome to buying used stuff... ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
plummen (10-08-2013)
Old 10-08-2013, 04:02 AM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

janitorial (Goodman) Furnace won't ignite gas


They used to call themselves janitrol back in the day,I used to call them jani-junk back in the day before goodman bought them out and improved them greatly.
Im not sure if jonstone supply/j-mart will sell to the public in your area but its wort a try,you could check on line at ecomfort.com or someplace like that though.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plummen For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-08-2013)
Old 10-20-2013, 10:44 PM   #5
Novice Handi-schmuck
 
gabrielpanoussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: America
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

janitorial (Goodman) Furnace won't ignite gas


Thank you all. I ended up ordering the gas valves and orifice from sears parts direct. They are supposed to be calibrated to the required water column.

I am in the next phase of my HVAC install and I have a question about the furnace condensate drain.

I have seen instances where the condensate drain is fitted to a T that connects to a 3" primary vent, is this necessary? I assume this is done because it is a mixture of gases and liquid. Am I correct? A trap is also required in the drain line to prevent exhaust gasses escaping. Correct?

Thanks all just want to know what I am dealing with CO2 kills.

Last edited by gabrielpanoussi; 10-20-2013 at 10:45 PM. Reason: grammer
gabrielpanoussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:14 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 159
Rewards Points: 150
Default

janitorial (Goodman) Furnace won't ignite gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by gabrielpanoussi View Post
I purchased a used Janitorial (Goodman Furnace)
Janitrol not Janitorial
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 02:42 PM   #7
Novice Handi-schmuck
 
gabrielpanoussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: America
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

janitorial (Goodman) Furnace won't ignite gas


ok Janitrol then.. lol. Thanks!

gabrielpanoussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 07:01 AM
Goodman furnace wont light and it is getting cold Rio_Grande HVAC 8 02-13-2012 07:01 AM
Heil furnace won't ignite mjprel HVAC 24 10-23-2009 02:52 PM
Goodman furnace blowing lukewarm air mangust13 HVAC 12 02-19-2009 07:38 PM
Goodman Furnace does not kick in wctoro HVAC 2 02-20-2008 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.