Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-05-2010, 01:18 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Installing a US 240v 60hz dryer in European voltage

I moved from the US to Israel and brought with me a brand new Bosch WTVC8330US dryer. I figured, hey, its rated 220-240v so it should work fine.. so what if the hz are not the same, the cycle times will be a bit off (clearly i am a novice at this electricity stuff).

Well, since the dryer came with no power cord, a local installer attached a 3 cord wire to the back of the dryer and plugged it into the wall. There was a nice flash of light and dryer will no longer turn on.
I don't know if it blew a fuse or something worse. Local Bosch is no help either.

I would love to get some ideas on what to do next. Calling other local techs was no help as most of them have no idea how to deal with US appliances here.

Thanks!

yavieli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 07:03 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 252

Quote:
Originally Posted by yavieli View Post
I moved from the US to Israel and brought with me a brand new Bosch WTVC8330US dryer. I figured, hey, its rated 220-240v so it should work fine.. so what if the hz are not the same, the cycle times will be a bit off (clearly i am a novice at this electricity stuff).

Well, since the dryer came with no power cord, a local installer attached a 3 cord wire to the back of the dryer and plugged it into the wall. There was a nice flash of light and dryer will no longer turn on.
I don't know if it blew a fuse or something worse. Local Bosch is no help either.

I would love to get some ideas on what to do next. Calling other local techs was no help as most of them have no idea how to deal with US appliances here.

Thanks!