Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2010, 10:24 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,288
Share |
Default

Induction cooktops


Anyone have one yet? what are your experiences with them? I know induction works fast, but how would you say cooking is with them? seems like it takes forever for me to boil water with my gas cooktop, but being able to boil water in 90 seconds is a MAJOR improvement from 5+ minutes on gas...

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 12:34 PM   #2
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Default

Induction cooktops


Recently had a client offer to make me lunch - 7 min from cold water to pasta on the table, including 5 min to cook the pasta. I was impressed.

__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 02:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,288
Default

Induction cooktops


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Thomas View Post
Recently had a client offer to make me lunch - 7 min from cold water to pasta on the table, including 5 min to cook the pasta. I was impressed.
right now with gas, that'd take me at least 20 minutes... minimum
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 01:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 44
Default

Induction cooktops


Induction has been used for years in industry for fast heating. The only requirements for the home induction stoves are making sure you have the right cookware. I don't think aluminum and copper stuff will work properly.
Idmason60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 01:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,288
Default

Induction cooktops


Quote:
Originally Posted by Idmason60 View Post
Induction has been used for years in industry for fast heating. The only requirements for the home induction stoves are making sure you have the right cookware. I don't think aluminum and copper stuff will work properly.

yeah there has to be a metal that reacts magnetically
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
induction Mechelle Electrical 10 07-27-2009 07:40 PM
Induction heating to light fuse Need Help! Electrical 8 05-14-2009 07:59 AM
Induction fan issue on Comfortmaker RPJ II scouter2008 HVAC 2 01-06-2009 06:33 AM
Simple VFD for 300watt Induction motor CaseyJ Electrical 6 04-01-2008 05:30 PM
Induction blower seal ktritz HVAC 4 03-05-2007 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.