I Have Built In Vacuum System Runs But Has No Suction - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2013, 03:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
williamwallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


It's a nutone built in system runs , no suction any ideas?

Advertisement

williamwallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:27 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


Quote:
Originally Posted by williamwallace View Post
It's a nutone built in system runs , no suction any ideas?
Sure......

1. Is it turned on?

2. Is the bag empty?

3. Are you missing any small pets or children?

Ok....joking aside....

Look for a blockage.....if you go the vac and there is little air coming out....you have a blockage somewhere.

But if a lot of air is coming out, most likely one of the internal hoses came off and it's just sucking air.

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
williamwallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


It's blowing like crazy , it most be as you said a hose inside? I'll start taking it apart, ( add to honey do list) rather be golfing thanks
williamwallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 04:18 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


Quote:
Originally Posted by williamwallace View Post
It's blowing like crazy , it most be as you said a hose inside? I'll start taking it apart, ( add to honey do list) rather be golfing thanks
Keep the wife happy....she will keep you happy....and the floors clean.

If I had to bet....I would look at where the vacuum ports are. The hose most likely came loose there.....or, something ate through one of them.

You might try lifting each port door and listen....if the hose came loose a that port, chances are you will hear quite a bit of noise right there.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 05:08 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


Quote:
Originally Posted by williamwallace View Post
It's a nutone built in system runs , no suction any ideas?
a clog in the line. All you can do is get a plumber to snake the line back to the vacuum.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 08:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,269
Rewards Points: 624
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


First, don't run the unit a lot.

If it is clogged, this creates a big strain on the unit.

Do you have an inlet directly on the cannister, as I do? Open it and check for suction there.

If you have suction there, a respectable amount, then your unit is working correctly.

If you have some suction there, but not really very much, then it is possible that you have a loose connection somewhere.

You won't be able to tell the difference between a clog and a closed inlet door.

How many inlet doors do you have?

Probably should hope for a clog rather than a disconnected line.

Do you have an unfinished area in which the lines run, or is the area all enclosed (inaccessible)?
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
williamwallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs down

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


The port on the canister has no suction
williamwallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:55 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


Then you need to take the motor off, and find out why it is not working. Common issues, filter is clogged, canister is so full, there is no way for it to fill anymore, exhaust is clogged, etc.. A whole house vacuum works the same as a portable unit, just that it hangs on the wall, and attaches to a central piping.

You will first need to disconnect the unit from the house piping, and then see if it will pull a suction, when you attach the hose to the unit, if it has one for direct use at the canister. Not really much more to tell you, then you have a project on your hands, that could take an hour to fix, or a whole day, depending on what is going on.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:15 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,269
Rewards Points: 624
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


Wow.

You might want to change your furnace filter now. And the air filters on all your vehicles and small motors. Change some oil while you are at it.

I've never seen a vacuum that had no suction, yet the motor still worked and created an exhaust flow. I suppose it is possible, however.

Photos. We need photos.

And put a garbage sack around the cannister before you take the lid off. With any luck, it runneth over. This will be something worth seeing.
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:58 AM   #10
Newbie
 
williamwallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I have built in vacuum system runs but has no suction


I'll let you know, it doesn't make scents, we were vacuuming saw dust and it sounded like it had a full bag but the bags actually empty.
The hard wood floors installed, yesterday wasn't a complete bust.

Advertisement

williamwallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade old Rheem Split System fredm54 HVAC 7 05-15-2012 03:04 PM
Outside Faucet Vacuum Breaker - defeat or remove? tjtv Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 09-27-2011 06:49 PM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 07:03 PM
Permit For Fire Sprinklers letnes Plumbing 18 10-14-2010 06:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts