Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2011, 11:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

how to clean payne gas sensor?


I have a Payne gas furnace, how can I clean the heat sensor? last time the furnace repair guy said that he had to clean the sensor. Now, since I have more free time for next couple days.. i wanna give it a try to clean it my self.

May someone suggest me or maybe provide some tips about how to clean the sensor? Also.. where is the sensor located exactly????

dapperdraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 02:17 PM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

how to clean payne gas sensor?


I would go online and see if you can find service information and schematics that show where the sensor is located and decide whether it is in a place where you can safely get to it without ripping a bunch of other stuff out of the way.

I would also consider whether the sensor assembly is something that can or should be cleaned or if it would better off to just replace it. You might call to see how much they are.

You will also want to see if there is anything tricky about settings for it and so forth.

user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to user1007 For This Useful Post:
dapperdraker (06-26-2011)
Old 06-17-2011, 04:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 383
Default

how to clean payne gas sensor?


here is a good video to watch, it'll probably give you all that you need: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I86jo...layer_embedded

the flame sensor is just a thermocouple that touches one of the burners and senses the temperature. if it gets corroded, it will stop sensing the heat properly and will likely cause short-cycling like what you see in the video. emery cloth is the same stuff you use to clean copper piping and can be found in the plumber section at lowe's.

i have never cleaned my flame sensors in 5 years and i have never had any issues. but then again, i live in texas and our furnaces down here don't run that much.

Last edited by NitroNate; 06-17-2011 at 04:12 PM.
NitroNate is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NitroNate For This Useful Post:
dapperdraker (06-26-2011)
Old 06-26-2011, 12:28 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Default

how to clean payne gas sensor?


Thank you guys... you are awesome I've done to clean my own furnace's heat sensor by my self. Thanks to your suggest.. it really helps
dapperdraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Water Tank Flammable Vapor Sensor Lockout - A.O. Smith - Promax taviyo Plumbing 11 08-14-2013 04:51 PM
Installing 3-way occupancy sensor westbank Electrical 6 05-04-2010 05:08 PM
Wiring Motion Sensor Electronic Lighting Switch consultant Electrical 2 03-07-2010 07:19 PM
Ruud furnace issue on upgrade board and flame sensor rubberman HVAC 22 01-15-2010 11:34 PM
Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly? kohaiut Electrical 7 01-14-2009 10:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.