Help Me Hotwire My Dryer! - Appliances - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2011, 05:04 AM   #16
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

On some models it can indeed be done, and safely. Look up "How I hotwired my kenmore dryer." I created this video to demonstrate how. I brought my dryer back twenty years in technology to the golden age of appliances before integrated circuits, without bypassing a single safety mechanism.


brazilnut8898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 05:09 AM   #17
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Sure you can.

This is really a job for a qualified electrician though.

Last edited by brazilnut8898; 08-30-2011 at 05:19 AM. Reason: duplicate
brazilnut8898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 06:16 AM   #18
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25

Congratulation on a true DIY conversion of a automatic dryer to a more conventional one which we all used for years safely. The main issue with any DIY project is safety and it seems you have not bypassed any of the safety features in your
conversion. My mission in todays appliances is to buy them with as few electronic boards on them as possible. Todays manufactures are mandated by the government to save energy with new appliances . Many have accomplished this by adding sensitive controls and variable heating systems so can meet those mandates using the same running gear used for 50 years. They added electronic boards and sensors that can't be repaired,difficult to trouble shoot
and are usually expensive to replace, wiping any savings in energy gains by those very same devices. I personally think making things simple and less expensive to repair
is a far better energy savings system then filling out dumps with broken appliances and buying new ones.

Good luck with your conversion.
Idmason60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 06:24 AM   #19
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75

Originally Posted by TheNiceGuy View Post
Geez, quit the hatin' buster. fix that has worked over the a clothes line?
Marbledust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 06:46 AM   #20
Code05's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,893
Rewards Points: 1,104

You guys do realize that this thread is 2 years old.


Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removed basement stairs - put in floor for washer and dryer capslock Flooring 3 10-09-2010 02:15 PM
Dryer vent ponch37300 General DIY Discussions 10 01-21-2009 04:26 PM
Dryer Pony Problem. Hobb3s Electrical 17 09-30-2008 08:16 PM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 10:45 PM
Help, how & where can I vent a 2nd floor dryer? jaes Remodeling 2 06-28-2008 10:03 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1