Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2011, 05:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE WPRE6100G0WT No spin or agitate


So I ordered a motor/invertor on ebay after the existing one gave me no LED indication what so ever. The new motor immediately threw a transmission code (4 blinks). I ordered one of those and put it in. I got it all reassembled and reset the error codes. After putting it into field service mode the motor is now throwing a locked rotor code, but the basket, pulley and everything spin freely. Did I get a bad motor??

Maverick494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 09:29 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GE WPRE6100G0WT No spin or agitate


Sounds like. won't clear?? no led on old mtr indicates in-line fuse blown. they have a new mtr which eliminates this fuse and doesn't blow mode shifter.. which mtr did you purchase-part #? you never know what you're getting on inter-net. buy your parts from a local authorized parts dist to avoid these problems.

Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:48 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE WPRE6100G0WT No spin or agitate


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacques View Post
Sounds like. won't clear?? no led on old mtr indicates in-line fuse blown. they have a new mtr which eliminates this fuse and doesn't blow mode shifter.. which mtr did you purchase-part #? you never know what you're getting on inter-net. buy your parts from a local authorized parts dist to avoid these problems.
if the inline fuse was blown the new motor would exhibit the same no LED as the last one did. Plus I verified that it was not blown with a multimeter. the motor is part no. WH20X10058 which is listed as compatible with the washer. As much as I would have loved to buy a motor from a local dealer, I couldn't afford to spend 225.00 on it. As it was I spent 75 on the supposedly new one online. Now if it is a matter of removing the fuse from the line because this motor is newer than the last one and the fuse is somehow causing it to show locked rotor (how that would be I have no idea) then I can do that.

I am half tempted to try taking the "new" motor apart and swapping the inverter to the old one and seeing if the old motor shows the same code. Not sure that is possible, haven't looked yet.

Last edited by Maverick494; 01-20-2011 at 11:56 AM.
Maverick494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 06:26 PM   #4
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,557
Rewards Points: 1,024
Default

GE WPRE6100G0WT No spin or agitate


you need to check to make sure that is a genuine GE motor, $75.00 would be a steal.
hardwareman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:44 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GE WPRE6100G0WT No spin or agitate


suminps up! no way that mtr-x10058 sold for $75. a lot of that inter-net stuff [the legit ones]are cust returns from those co's that take back electrical parts,so who knows what you're getting. i've seen some real doozies when called for service after homeowner gave up..IF it is in fact a x10058 it should have blown that fuse as soon as you turned it on. the two inverters are different-can't swap. don't know what to tell you-recheck the disconnects on mtr? but sounds like one winding being energized and other not[does mtr hum?] ohm windings out?? good luck.
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top load washer won't agitate nuclearjesus Appliances 4 05-30-2010 05:47 PM
GE washer No spin when loaded SPSNEXPERT Appliances 4 06-29-2009 01:39 AM
Washing Machine Not Reaching Max Spin Shelley Appliances 2 11-30-2008 10:12 PM
Maytag washer spin cycle problems. billmac Appliances 1 07-16-2008 05:03 PM
washer spin cycle seems wrong markm Appliances 5 01-04-2008 02:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.