Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2012, 05:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


I just picked up a used GE Gas Dryer (DBSR453GB1WW) off craigslist.

It only runs when the 'Start Knob' is held to the right, as soon as you let go it shuts off. It tumbles fine, and gets hot. I've contacted the seller and they offered to just give me back my money but I figured if it's a few dollars to fix it I'll ask them to just pay for the repair/part.

With some quick googling it looks like it is either. The start switch http://www.appliancepartspros.com/Ap...ap4980910.aspx or the motor http://www.appliancepartspros.com/Ap...ap4295548.aspx I don't really understand how it could be the motor, but I have zero experience in dryer repair so I'm not going to question strangers on the Internet, so I came here for the opinions of some more strangers.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!


Last edited by Ximerian; 08-13-2012 at 12:09 PM.
Ximerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 06:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,721
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


I would check the door switch.

DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 06:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


It won't go at all if the door is open, regardless of if I hold the start knob or not, could it still have something to do with the door switch?
Ximerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 06:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,721
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


Probably not. I was a bit doubtful on that suggestion myself, since it would run with the dial turned, but it's a relatively common and inexpensive fix, so figured it was worth a shot. Doesn't sound like that is the case though.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 131
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


Sounds like the motor May not be switching from the start to run windings. Typically if the motor doesn't run nothing will. You can confirm by checking motor current draw and ensuring the unit is switching.

Just to confirm, the unit will only run when the start switch is held?
Protocol. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 09:57 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


That is exactly what happens. Do you think the motor would be a DIY replacement or should an experienced tech do that?

Looks like the motor would be as much if not more than what I paid for the dryer...Could it just be a loose wire on the motor or is it the motor itself is just bad?

Last edited by Ximerian; 08-13-2012 at 10:29 AM.
Ximerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 01:44 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


Replaced the rotary start switch and the same problem still exists...is there anything else it could be other than the motor?

Last edited by Ximerian; 08-13-2012 at 04:20 PM.
Ximerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 05:22 PM   #8
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,514
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


probably not the motor, is there a wiring diagram on the dryer and if so can you upload it here?
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 05:50 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


There is a diagram. I don't have access to a scanner until tomorrow.

EDIT: Found the diagram online for that model dryer. http://media.fotki.com/1_p,sggkrfrdg...4017img-or.jpg

Last edited by Ximerian; 08-13-2012 at 06:59 PM.
Ximerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 08:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


If you look at the diagram, there is a "motor switch" which is integral to the motor. It is an internal, centrifugal switch which takes over when the motor spins. See if the motor is covered with lint and clean it out if possible. This switch is necessary for the machine to operate after you let go of the start switch.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 09:58 PM   #11
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,514
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


did you check all the wires on the motor to see if one came loose
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:06 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


Belt sw not in ckt will do that too.
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:27 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 131
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


Check both idler spring sw and centrifugal sw on the motor. Those are in series with eachother and could both be the issue.

You can ohm or continuity check the idler spring sw and if that is ok you should be able to check the centrifugal sw by checking current draw of the motor. Motor should draw higher current to begin and go down to a lower number (typically around 2-3 amps).
Protocol. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:32 PM   #14
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


I do not think it would run if the idler switch was open..holding the start switch would not override it. (IMO)
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:04 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

GE Gas Dryer only runs when 'Start Knob' is held.


It would do exactly what you describe=mimic bad motor cent sw.

Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clothes Dryer Ventalation crankbait09 HVAC 6 07-03-2012 06:24 PM
Washer & Dryer Holiday Fun BRIANisMEisWE Appliances 8 12-24-2011 02:41 AM
Problems with Whirlpool Dryer Hookup! Help! maryrgrimm Appliances 1 04-07-2010 07:42 AM
Dryer vent ponch37300 General DIY Discussions 10 01-21-2009 04:26 PM
dryer runs backwards Boz Appliances 8 04-24-2008 08:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.