Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2013, 07:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


My whirlpool counter top gas stove click continuous , without even turning the burner on.
All the burner sparks all the time.
Any help please

ryandeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,997
Rewards Points: 3,110
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Going to need the model # to even guess.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:38 PM   #3
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,106
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryandeen View Post
My whirlpool counter top gas stove click continuous , without even turning the burner on.
All the burner sparks all the time.
Any help please
I would unplug it, you may burn out the module running it continuously.

Here's a link with a similar problem which may be helpful. Post model number when you get a chance.

trouble shooting link

Last edited by jmon; 11-23-2013 at 09:57 PM.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 10:25 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Model number. GLT3057RB01.
And yes I unplug it . I am good with multimeter.
I work on aircondition .
ryandeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 10:28 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


My wife clean the stove and burner and then it happen, she probably short something out.
ryandeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 10:43 AM   #6
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,106
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Thanks for the part number. This is what poped up when I googled it. This is an excerpt from the manual:

CAUTIONARY NOTE:
Be sure to unplug the stove from the electrical power prior to testing.

Sparkers do go bad, so it could also be a defective one. Each sparker has a wire that pulls off the sparker element body. You can disconnect one at a time and test to see if the sparking stops.

If the sparking continues, then reconnect that one & disconnect another. Continuing with each sparker one at a time until you locate the one that may be causing the problem. The one that stops the sparking is the culprit.

If ALL the sparkers are sparking, the most likely cause is a defective capacitor in the spark modual. Spark moduals are not repairable. The entire part must be replaced. Replacements are available at the local appliance retail parts store listed in the phone book.

Another possibility is moisture during the cleaning process found it's way onto one or more of the switches. Excessively moist and or wet sponges or cleaning cloths allow water to get onto the switches, which will cause this problem, if applicable.

Attached is a manual (click on spark module), if you check out page 3, item 4, thats what the spark module looks like. Any appliance store should have them or you can call whirlpool. Hope it helps you.

spark module

Last edited by jmon; 11-24-2013 at 10:48 AM.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 11:14 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Oh thank you so much for that link, that is very helpful. I will let you know what happen.
ryandeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 11:23 AM   #8
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,106
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Your welcome, let us know how everything works out for you. Thanks.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 01:33 PM   #9
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,047
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Sometimes after cleaning the stove the burner bodies that go over the gas outlets aren't perfectly seated or aligned and this can cause a no fire even though the igniter is clicking away. Happens to me all the time and I test them after cleaning to make sure everything is back to normal. Just a thought for something else you might check before tearing it apart...
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raylo32 For This Useful Post:
ryandeen (11-24-2013)
Old 11-24-2013, 04:05 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Ok after reading that link that you send me, I open the oven top and test each switch for continuity with burner knob off. One show continuity , which is the culprit. I then used a hair dryer and blow air across the switch for a while to dry any moisture in it. Then test again and no continuity . Put everything back together and all work great again.
Thank you guys so much for the big help, and save me money.
ryandeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 04:08 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Jmon and raylo thanks again.
Anytime you guys in Charlotte nc , drinks is on me.
ryandeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 04:14 PM   #12
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,106
Default

Gas stove ignitor clicking


Great. Glad everything worked out for you and you saved some money. Now you know what to do after cleaning it, if you get the contacts too wet. Thanks for sharing.


Last edited by jmon; 11-24-2013 at 06:30 PM.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat for a basement with Pellt Stove on Main Floor magnum44 HVAC 1 11-20-2011 08:55 AM
Do you have a Wood/Pellet Stove Insert with a Raised GRANITE Hearth? gmoom Remodeling 1 01-24-2011 04:54 PM
Wood Stove, and Furnace hot water system shendog HVAC 7 10-04-2010 09:30 PM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 05:32 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.