Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 02:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 262
Share |
Default

Gas Stove


Hello All

Dont know if this is the right forum for it, and if not, please show me the right forum. But, i am looking for a new gas stove. What i really want to know is across each element (be it 4 or 5) how much btu for each is considered optimal or good.

I know, one might say its based on your cooking, but i have always cooked on electric. so i dont know what is considered "good" vs. "average."

I know forsure, that at least 1 element does btu greater than 16k, and i know i will get a 5k btu element, but what about the other 2 or 3? what should they be to be considered a good gas stove production?

thank you

Amitabh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,692
Default

Gas Stove


What were the BTUs of the electrics you've always cooked on?

Fairview is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 262
Default

Gas Stove


Electric is measured in BTUs? i never knew that.

i thought BTUs only had to do with gas.
Amitabh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,692
Default

Gas Stove


After all those fine home cooked meals without knowing the stove BTUs I doubt it's very important. If the valve wasn't opened far enough dinner may be a little late. Open the valve too far and the skillet smokes. You'll quickly get the change over.

If possible, don't make the mistake we did and buy one that requires electricity to function. Our old range was electric ignition which we liked but when the power was out it could be lit with a match. The new one, not so and very inconvenient.
Fairview is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 481
Default

Gas Stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairview View Post
If possible, don't make the mistake we did and buy one that requires electricity to function. Our old range was electric ignition which we liked but when the power was out it could be lit with a match. The new one, not so and very inconvenient.
How would a stove prevent you from lighting it with a match? Does it have some kind of electronic lockout on the gas valve? Interesting.


Quote:
Electric is measured in BTUs? i never knew that.
Everything heat-related is measured in BTU's. Ever see air conditioner ratings?
TheBobmanNH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 262
Default

Gas Stove


i'd like to know that too. that electric thing sucks, how do i avoid that.

you are right, if i dont know now, what difference does it make. But i will be spending money on something, so i would rather know and understand what i am spending it on.

so, if 17k, 15k, 9k, 5k (random) is considered good, then so be it and i will use that as a benchmark or reference point when shopping.

Thank you,
Amitabh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:14 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,692
Default

Gas Stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by Amitabh View Post
i'd like to know that too. that electric thing sucks, how do i avoid that.

you are right, if i dont know now, what difference does it make. But i will be spending money on something, so i would rather know and understand what i am spending it on.

so, if 17k, 15k, 9k, 5k (random) is considered good, then so be it and i will use that as a benchmark or reference point when shopping.

Thank you,
You avoid that electric thing that sucks by doing just what you are doing now. Research. I failed to go far enough in that endeavor and I'm glad I could make you aware of that. That information isn't very available on line and possibly not with direct hands on sales. Here is hoping some with spark ignition are still available to match light during power failure.
Fairview is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 08:45 PM   #8
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Gas Stove


Building and fire codes, and perhaps your insurance company, probably set limits on how much output a residential range may have without enhancing firewalls, etc.

Remember you need an appropriately matched range hood to the BTU output of the stove too! Will you have room for it without tearing your kitchen apart? Able to vent it through existing flue to the roof?

Here is a piece on stove BTU consideration that may help?

http://www.thekitchn.com/whats-a-btu...y-shoul-112070

Last edited by user1007; 11-26-2012 at 08:52 PM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:15 PM   #9
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,514
Default

Gas Stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBobmanNH View Post
How would a stove prevent you from lighting it with a match? Does it have some kind of electronic lockout on the gas valve? Interesting.
top burners can always be lit with a match, the oven however is a different story. Almost all ovens today use an electronic ignition or ignitor to light the oven. When you turn your oven on the bake ignitor will glow red hot, as the ignitor gets hotter it draws more amperage through the gas valve. When the ignitor draws 4.2 amps the gas valve will open up. Therefore if you have no power to your oven you have no gas supply through your valve.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:22 PM   #10
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,514
Default

Gas Stove


electric stoves are not rated in btus, they are rated in watts.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:22 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,692
Default

Gas Stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
top burners can always be lit with a match, the oven however is a different story. Almost all ovens today use an electronic ignition or ignitor to light the oven. When you turn your oven on the bake ignitor will glow red hot, as the ignitor gets hotter it draws more amperage through the gas valve. When the ignitor draws 4.2 amps the gas valve will open up. Therefore if you have no power to your oven you have no gas supply through your valve.
If you want a free education come light mine.
Fairview is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:03 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 367
Default

Gas Stove


Most gas ranges I've seen had 1/2" supply connections. Some ranges with high btu burners require 3/4" supply.
carpdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 04:10 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,692
Default

Gas Stove


[quote=TheBobmanNH;1060934]How would a stove prevent you from lighting it with a match? Does it have some kind of electronic lockout on the gas valve? Interesting.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Yes, it pertains to those that have ( automatic ) lockout in case of power failure. Those without that feature aren't affected.
Fairview is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:13 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 229
Default

Gas Stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by Amitabh View Post
Electric is measured in BTUs? i never knew that.

i thought BTUs only had to do with gas.
Watts and BTU/hr are both rates of energy production or consumption. 1 watt roughly equals 3.4 BTU/hr.

fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat for a basement with Pellt Stove on Main Floor magnum44 HVAC 1 11-20-2011 08:55 AM
Do you have a Wood/Pellet Stove Insert with a Raised GRANITE Hearth? gmoom Remodeling 1 01-24-2011 04:54 PM
Wood burning stove trim not flush against chimney Fortitude Appliances 1 11-11-2010 09:28 PM
Wood Stove, and Furnace hot water system shendog HVAC 7 10-04-2010 09:30 PM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 05:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.