Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2011, 05:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cumberland County New Jersey
Posts: 49
Share |
Default

Gas range woes


Ok, I moved into this house and it has a Sunbeam natural gas range (model # SNS3GMNSAW). It was manufactured in 2007, so it's not that old. Apparently this is their bottom-of-the line model, no bells or whistles, just 4 burners and an oven. Piece of crap doesn't even have a storage drawer under the oven. Anyway, no matter what burner I use, the damn thing burns my food, even at the lowest setting. For example, when making rice, after the water boils, I put the rice in, turn the burner all the way to low, cover the pot, and let it simmer for 20 minutes. But after about 10 minutes, the pot is overheating and the rice is sticking to the bottom of the pot. Tonight I made hamburger helper (yes, I live alone) and the instructions say that after it boils, cover, turn to low and simmer for 10 minutes. But even with the burner turned all the way to low, after about 5 minutes the skillet is bubbling over and spurting crap all over the stovetop. Any suggestions?

bpress54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

Gas range woes


Get a wife.

Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

Gas range woes


Just kidding

Pick the top up and see if there is an adjustment on the flute. It will be a collar with a screw. The collar will slide foreward and back. Also pull the range out and see if there is a regulator.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cumberland County New Jersey
Posts: 49
Default

Gas range woes


I had a wife, which is why I now live alone. And I'm not kidding. Anyway, this range appears to have what are referred to as sealed burners, they are attached directly to the top of the stove with screws and the top doesn't seem to want to lift off easily. I can pick it up a little bit, but the tubing underneath seems to be preventing it from lifting up all the way. I do see a regulator under there, but don't know how to access it. Yes, the stove is a piece of junk, but it's all I have right now so I don't want to eff it up. The burners have a plate that sits on top of an aluminum casting that encompasses the ignitor, and inside of that is a brass orifice
bpress54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 08:15 PM   #5
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,511
Default

Gas range woes


do not try to lift the top up, you will kink or break your burner tubes unless you remove the burners first. If your knob is set on the lowest setting the tip of the flame should be just above the burner cap if it is any higher, the low setting can be adjusted at the burner valve. I'm not going to tell you how to adjust the low setting as I think that is something that should be done by a qualified service tech.
And by the way Sunbeam went bankrupt a few years back and replacement parts are impossible to find.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 08:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cumberland County New Jersey
Posts: 49
Default

Gas range woes


Thanx guys, I think I'll just call an appliance tech to check it out
bpress54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 10:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 350
Default

Gas range woes


At least you have a stove. I used my Coleman 2 burner for a while when I became wifeless.
fireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 10:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cumberland County New Jersey
Posts: 49
Default

Gas range woes


Well, yea, but it's kind of useless if it just burns the crap out of whatever I'm trying to cook on it. That's why I got rid of my wife.
bpress54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 05:43 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

Gas range woes


Wonder if this thing was shipped/bought/whatever as LP and never converted to NP? flames high and yellow?
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 07:28 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cumberland County New Jersey
Posts: 49
Default

Gas range woes


No, flames are blue, and when turned to low are barely visible
bpress54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 07:55 AM   #11
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,511
Default

Gas range woes


Quote:
Originally Posted by bpress54 View Post
No, flames are blue, and when turned to low are barely visible
sounds to me like it is working as it is supposed to.
Fire the cook
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 06:12 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

Gas range woes


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
sounds to me like it is working as it is supposed to.
Fire the cook
Somewhere the EX is smiling.
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 07:03 AM   #13
mem
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 224
Default

Gas range woes


Maybe some better quality cookware is in order. The cheapo stuff doesn't distribute the heat very well. And, hey, nuthin' wrong with hamburger helper!
mem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 06:41 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

Gas range woes


This is better though...
Attached Images
 

Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood opening is bigger than range hood jacks16 HVAC 2 06-23-2011 06:19 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
Drop in range versus self standing for narrow area sbrink Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 6 01-21-2011 10:17 AM
Moving Electric Range Plug dmartins Electrical 3 11-23-2010 07:48 AM
Had a new electric range installed in my apartment - does this sound right? SAABturboDRIVR Electrical 15 01-02-2010 05:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.