Gas Range Swap - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2007, 02:18 PM   #1
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10

gas range swap

I have a 8 year old whirlpool gas range that i want to replace with another brand new whirlpool gas range. I would like to know if I can just use the existing gas pipes/connectors and anti-tip brackets for the new one. Therefore, I would not need to bother with too much installation hassles. Just disconnect, pull out old range, re-connect new range, and push in. Is this possible?


kenny11876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 07:37 PM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Rewards Points: 150

gas range swap

It should be relatively simple, 8 years isn't long at all...

But to be safe I would turn the gas line off, unscrew it and take a picture/draw/measure the gas line and brackets, and then bring it to the store...


elementx440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 08:31 PM   #3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

gas range swap

Your gas connections are likely the same, 1/2" pipe with adapters to flare thread fittings for the flex connector. If there is any doubt about the integrity of the old flex, replace it. New ones come with the pipe thread adapters for each end.

Anti-tip brackets vary with the best ideas of the manufacturer at the time of design. If you stick with Whirlpool brand, it's possible (but not absolute) the new one could have the same type of bracket.
jimmyj555 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop In Range Hook-Up mickey45 Electrical 1 04-08-2007 09:29 PM
What should I pay..... stevenblick General DIY Discussions 5 02-19-2007 07:38 PM
Home, home and the range! ...A dimensional query. Hushpuppy Carpentry 4 05-26-2006 06:23 PM
Can I Wire a range hood to an exhisting outlet? skellies Electrical 2 05-09-2006 04:06 PM
Replacing Stove Top with Range the.vicster Electrical 3 02-23-2006 05:12 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts