Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 05:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


Hi,
Not sure if this is the right place to post this. I'm getting a new gas range installed in a couple of days. Maybe this is just where I'm at (Michigan), but stores I've visited, none of their delivery guys will hook-up the gas range. It's not a big deal for me to do it myself, only issue I have is, once they put the range in place after doing the necessary leveling and adjustment, now I've to haul it out of its place again and hook it up and put it back again.

How do others do it? I've heard from others that they usually pay the delivery guys extra and they'll hook it up for you. But in their case, they don't know how or even want to be bothered with hooking up the gas line. Thanks.

hamproof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


if you have a local [not chain] full service appl store in your area-they'll do the hook up/install...if you're buying from a chain-i wouldn't let them do it-not to swift..just pull your old one have them uncrate new one in kitchen-check for damage etc and then install yourself..use new flexline and gas rated tape for connections..[don't tape compression side of flex line]

Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 06:23 PM   #3
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


Their probably not certified to connect gas & don't want assume the liability
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


Thanks for the reply. I can hook it up myself, just that I was concern after having the delivery guys put it in its place, it'll be hard for me to slide it out and hook it up, as I believe it is 300lbs or so.

Anyway, I went back to the store, voiced my concern and he showed me with some effort (on the floor model), he was able to slide it out.

Ok, now should I buy any specific gas connection kit? Are the ones from Home Depot, Lowes comparable with any others from the specialty appliance store? This is a 4 burner with 15k btu output on each.

I think the ones from HD/Lowes are $20 and from this local store, it is $30.

Also, is it customary to tip the delivery guys? It seems everyone these days are expecting a tip I'm already paying for delivery and the range itself was quite costly to me.

Thanks.
hamproof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:55 PM   #5
A Little Of Everything
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,119
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Their probably not certified to connect gas & don't want assume the liability
Bingo.

I don't know about this particular situation, but most of your "delivery guys" aren't exactly top-end specialists. A lot of times they're college kids, or your basic good guys whose backs are stronger than their brains.

They're not trained & certified installation specialists.


The exception would be your small, local shops.
DrHicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,526
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


One suggestion I have to make is buy yourself some furniture sliders go under the feet of the range. I did and have needed to move my range many times while finishing off the kitchen. Our range is 385 lbs and its been pretty easy to move in & out. It all about leverage and so I'll start by by sitting down on the floor with my feet on either side of the range and pull on the front legs.

As for the connection kit I'd suggest you go to plumbing supply house near you. You might pay a little more, but you'll get the right stuff the first time. You'll need to buy; 4' yellow flex hose, gas rated teflon tape & the gas leak spray. Then if you have 2 crescent wrenches at home you should be good to go!

Good luck, it's actually pretty straight forward.
VIPlumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:03 PM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,522
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


that is exactly why people should stay away from big box stores and buy locally from the guy who will hook it up and service it down the road. buy from the guy who has the training and knowledge. just my 2 cents worth
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hardwareman For This Useful Post:
DrHicks (12-06-2010)
Old 12-06-2010, 05:02 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


hrdwm, how true on where to buy, especialy with appl's...installs are a craft in itself. not only do you have to know how every different line sets up,you have to figure out how to get the machine in the house. not everyone lives in a new big home..the chains don't want to pay for this ability so you get two yahoos who throw the thing in it's spot...i usually tip service/delivery guys,more so if they've done the little extras...As to your install just measure the height that the rear will be as it aligns with the cabinet-keep level- push it in place and adjust front legs. these all have plastic legs now so floor shoudn't be a problem..IMPORTANT!! don't forget to install anti-tip bracket..
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 05:24 AM   #9
And Still Learning
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WAR EAGLE
Posts: 114
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


Natural gas or propane? Might want to verify the jets.
Before you install the new range wax the floor in the area where it will be installed. Makes it slick.
Know It ALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 10:00 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


It is natural gas (almost certain). It is a house we are buying that is not seller occupied anymore. We are set to close in 2 weeks but need to have appliances in (range and fridge) for final loan approval. I do have those square sliding pads. Good idea.

Will buy the gas connection kit from Lowes. Don't have much time to shop around as it is being installed tomorrow.
hamproof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 10:22 AM   #11
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


If you connect. make sure you connect to the correct threads. I've seen SAE connected to pipe threads & pipe threads connected to SAE threads
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 12:04 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


I went to Lowes and they have 2 kit. One for up to 60k BTU input w/ 0.5" diameter connectors and another "pro" kit for > 60k BTU w/ 0.75" diameter connectors.

Which one do I need? I guess depending on what range I have, right? I'm guessing the first kit will work for me?

Reading the range installation guide, this is what it says (delivery guys should be here in a couple hours):

If the unit is to be installed with flexible couplings and/or quick-disconnect fittings, the installer must use a heavy-duty AGA design-certified flexible connector of at least 1/2” (1.3 cm) ID NPT (with suitable strain reliefs) in compliance with ANSI Z21.41
In Canada: CAN 1-6, 10-88 metal connectors for gas appliances and CAN 1-6.9 M79 quick disconnect devices for use with gas fuel.
In Massachusetts: This appliance must be installed with a 36” (3-foot) long flexible gas connector.
31-1/16”
(78.9 cm)
and Z21.69.

Last edited by hamproof; 12-07-2010 at 12:09 PM.
hamproof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 03:38 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


Ok, I hooked up the gas line and everything appears to be ok. Question about the routing of the gas line. The inlet on the range is at the top. So, once I push the range back in, this line kinda looks like a upright roller coaster. Straight up, down, the up into the range. No pinching issue, right? Or if someone has a diagram on how it should look like, much appreciated. Thanks.
hamproof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:55 PM   #14
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


If there are no kinks & it doesn't leak. Don't worry about it. It's a flex connector. It's suppose to flex/bend
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:07 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Gas Range installation, hook-up question


@kenmac - thanks. Looking forward to using a gas stove after 20yrs of electric. Almost wish I bought a open burner design rather than sealed ones Oh well.

hamproof is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Range Wiring Question - Not Usual Question RWessner Electrical 5 12-04-2010 06:44 PM
Schluter Ditra installation question epsilon Flooring 3 09-25-2010 09:34 PM
Range hood wiring question, help!! nyc_apt_dweller Electrical 4 03-05-2009 08:34 PM
Range hood installation, termionating at ceiling gorf Appliances 3 12-04-2008 09:28 PM
Propane installation for range in kitchen acoustic_bum General DIY Discussions 1 02-14-2007 09:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.