Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2008, 07:26 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 567
Share |
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


have to reinstall our gas-fired drop-in cooktop in new cabinet,,, there's a drawer just under it which'll work IF i remove the unit's gas regulator/valve to another location,,, IF i do this, will it meet any code regulations ? ? ? new c-tops will be 2" granite.

thinking i'll mount it under the floor in bsmt onto a floor joist - approx 4' from the unit's gas inlet,,, in the meantime, contacting our natl gas supplier,,, appreciate any replies/suggestions,,, if i remember right, pressure INSIDE the house's in the 4-6psi range, right ? ? ?

THANKS in advance ! ! !

yesitsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 11:12 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


Quote:
Originally Posted by yesitsconcrete View Post
have to reinstall our gas-fired drop-in cooktop in new cabinet,,, there's a drawer just under it which'll work IF i remove the unit's gas regulator/valve to another location,,, IF i do this, will it meet any code regulations ? ? ? new c-tops will be 2" granite.

thinking i'll mount it under the floor in bsmt onto a floor joist - approx 4' from the unit's gas inlet,,, in the meantime, contacting our natl gas supplier,,, appreciate any replies/suggestions,,, if i remember right, pressure INSIDE the house's in the 4-6psi range, right ? ? ?

THANKS in advance ! ! !
you may find hvac-talk.com helpful i thing theres a code forum there sorry i cant help more

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 06:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 567
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


whirlpoop was no help at all because of their liability,,, appliance repairmen, ditto,,, gas transmission & supply people, nada,,, finally an installer told me the device must be in the same room - 2' is wonderful
yesitsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 03:24 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,236
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


I'm an electrician,but I think you mean 4-6 oz,not lbs pressure.

Last edited by bobelectric; 12-04-2010 at 03:26 AM.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:19 PM   #5
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
I'm an electrician,but I think you mean 4-6 oz,not lbs pressure.


That would be 4''-6'' WC
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:26 PM   #6
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


Keep this in mind the further you put the valve the more line that has to purge in order to light. I would keep it as close as possible.

Is modifying the drawer an option?
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 08:48 PM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,538
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


[quote=Jackofall1;546915]Keep this in mind the further you put the valve the more line that has to purge in order to light. I would keep it as close as possible.



except on the initial start up after installation, it would not have to purge at all.
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 09:12 PM   #8
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,580
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


Yes,
I run into this all the time when installing kitchens. I used to make the drawer a dummy until one day I was looking at it and decided to keep the drawer functional. I cut a notch in the back of the drawer and using the cutout pieces, boxed it back in around the gas valve. It only took about ten minutes and looked like it was made that way.
Mike Hawkins
Attached Thumbnails
gas pressure IN house,,,-img_3658.jpg  
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to firehawkmph For This Useful Post:
DrHicks (12-06-2010)
Old 12-06-2010, 10:13 PM   #9
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

gas pressure IN house,,,


Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawkmph View Post
Yes,
I run into this all the time when installing kitchens. I used to make the drawer a dummy until one day I was looking at it and decided to keep the drawer functional. I cut a notch in the back of the drawer and using the cutout pieces, boxed it back in around the gas valve. It only took about ten minutes and looked like it was made that way.
Mike Hawkins
Mike,

Thats exactly what I was talking about. Mod the drawer not the gas service.

Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
Patio roof to house attachment question mikemobile Building & Construction 1 09-30-2008 07:51 AM
EXcessive moisture in house geema HVAC 5 09-10-2008 11:18 AM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM
Loss of water pressure in my house... stormyjas Plumbing 6 02-15-2007 10:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.