Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-18-2008, 01:25 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Gas Dryer wont heat??

Our Gas dryer at the house just quit getting hot last night... it turns and the timer and everything works but it just doesn't heat?? Can anyone tell me why this is happening??

Any help would be appreciated...We don't want to have to buy a new one now with Xmas coming.

CptSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 04:21 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

Gas Dryer wont heat??

I'm not sure about a gas dryer but an electric dryer won't heat if it doesn't have enough power. I just went through that situation at my daugher's house. One leg of the 220 circuit was dead. The motor would run but it wouldn't heat. Found a bad fuse in a fusible disconnect, replaced it and it worked like a charm.

Again, though, I have no experience with gas dryers. Good luck.

bradnailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:57 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

Gas Dryer wont heat??

What brand is the dryer?? How old?? A newer dryer will have a glow bar ignition. That may be bad. You could have one of the gas coils open. Do you have power going to the gas valve assembly? You could have a thermal cut off on the exhaust that opened up. Do you have a meter to make some checks??
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 12:46 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 500

Gas Dryer wont heat??

I, too, have little experience with gas dryers.

However, on an electric dryer there will be several heat settings; like delicates, regular and permanent press.

If you have the same or similar settings on your gas dryer, try running the dryer on the delicate cycle instead.