Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-03-2011, 08:04 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Gas Dryer - Install Flex Line and Also No Heat

I bought this house last year and it came with a Whirlpool gas dryer in it already. It worked so I kept it. Previous owner said it was there when they moved in (in 2005), so no idea how old it is. Anyways, two questions:

The home inspector noted that the installer used rigid gas pipe all the way to the dryer itself, instead of the flexible line required by code. I'd been planning on replacing it with the flexible line but forgot about it until now...

Yesterday the dryer stopped heating. It does heat when there are no clothes in it, but once clothes are in it it won't heat. I assumed it was a blocked duct but it is ducting fine as it always did. Any idea what could be causing this?

I've never worked on a dryer before and will probably just buy a new one but since this one is going to the scrap heap anyway I figured it can't hurt to tinker with it and try to learn what the problem is and, if it's a cheap part, fix it so it works until we can get a new dryer delivered.

But here's the problem - all my previous homes were all electric, not gas. So I'm a bit nervous about disconnecting the rigid natural gas pipe that goes directly to the back of this dryer. There are valves along this pipe, including one right before it is attached to the dryer itself. Problem is, there's no way to get to it because the pipe is rigid and I can't pull the dryer out to access it. So my thinking was to use the next valve up the section of pipe.

So, if my thinking is correct, to do this all I need to do is turn the valve to off at the end of the prior section, hope it works (this is a 60 year old house), and use 2 crescent wrenches to disconnect the section of pipe (about 3 ft) that leads directly to the dryer.