Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser - Appliances - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2010, 12:09 PM   #46
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


This is a picture from page one of this post. I have been going crazy trying to locate a new ribbon cable. I contacted Sears and RepairClinic. No one can find any information on this part. Does anyone have thoughts on where I can get a replacement? I have already ordered the Power Board, Control Board and the front cover, in hopes that one would contain the ribbon cable, however I've had no luck.

Thanks
Steve


Advertisement

wizgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 02:48 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


I shows this picture at this web page.
http://www.repairclinic.com/Shop-For...CB1-%3d%3d&n=2

Says it's $8.20. Are you saying they can't order it, or not available?





Quote:
Originally Posted by wizgi View Post
This is a picture from page one of this post. I have been going crazy trying to locate a new ribbon cable. I contacted Sears and RepairClinic. No one can find any information on this part. Does anyone have thoughts on where I can get a replacement? I have already ordered the Power Board, Control Board and the front cover, in hopes that one would contain the ribbon cable, however I've had no luck.

Thanks
Steve

sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 03:12 PM   #48
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


Wow, that's it. No one has been able to locate it as part of my Kenmore Elite, which I realized is a Frigidaire. That includes RepairClinic. Maybe they were looking under the wrong model number.

To be clear, my issue is that there is no power to the front board. Sears came out and said it was the power board, which I replaced to no avail. It was then that I noticed a small tear in the ribbon cable. So I suspect that this is the source of my issue.

Thanks for the help on this. I will order right away and report back.

Steve


Quote:
Originally Posted by sv9779 View Post
I shows this picture at this web page.
http://www.repairclinic.com/Shop-For...CB1-%3d%3d&n=2

Says it's $8.20. Are you saying they can't order it, or not available?
wizgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 12:28 PM   #49
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


So after ordering a Power Board as suggested by the Sears tech and then ordering a Control Board, the problem was resolved with an $8.00 Ribbon Cable. Thanks for the help in locating the correct part (Sears is still trying to find it). Now it's time to package the unneeded parts to send back.

Steve
wizgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 11:53 PM   #50
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


Anyone have circuit board schematics on the board located inside the water/ ice cover ?
I would like to know what the small 2 wire P4 plug in is for, I busted the prongs putting it back together, I think it is for the water button lite but I am not positive, everything works good after replacing the broken water lever. but I want to be sure its the water button lite.

Terry
Terry G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 03:42 AM   #51
Sea Breeze
 
Techseabreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Techseabreeze
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry G View Post
Anyone have circuit board schematics on the board located inside the water/ ice cover ?
I would like to know what the small 2 wire P4 plug in is for, I busted the prongs putting it back together, I think it is for the water button lite but I am not positive, everything works good after replacing the broken water lever. but I want to be sure its the water button lite.

Terry
About the only place to get a circuit board schematic would be China. Not trying to be funny but that is a fact! OEM China? Ha!
Techseabreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 12:24 PM   #52
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techseabreeze View Post
About the only place to get a circuit board schematic would be China. Not trying to be funny but that is a fact! OEM China? Ha!
Thanks for your reply

I presumed it would be in a service tech manual for trouble shooting and some one would have one.

Terry
Terry G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:23 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry G View Post
Anyone have circuit board schematics on the board located inside the water/ ice cover ?
I would like to know what the small 2 wire P4 plug in is for, I busted the prongs putting it back together, I think it is for the water button lite but I am not positive, everything works good after replacing the broken water lever. but I want to be sure its the water button lite.

Terry

Try here - www.frigidaire.com/manuals

Mods, if that link is not allowed, sorry. Delete at will.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 11:33 AM   #54
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


I have the same problem. Water and Ice dispensing on it's own. I removed the front cover to stop this until I fix it and now there is a bad odor in the fridge. Any advice to repair prior to replacing the circuit boards? I had to change the water dispenser because it snapped off, simple project to replace then all the trouble started when I put it back in place.
jdohring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:39 PM   #55
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdohring View Post
I have the same problem. Water and Ice dispensing on it's own. I removed the front cover to stop this until I fix it and now there is a bad odor in the fridge. Any advice to repair prior to replacing the circuit boards? I had to change the water dispenser because it snapped off, simple project to replace then all the trouble started when I put it back in place.


I repaired this with the Cable ribbon that connects the control board and the power board. Second thing would of been to replace the control board that is attached to the front cover bezel/trim piece for the door. Repairclinic.com had everything in stock and I picked it up for a thank goodness, easy install.
jdohring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 07:37 PM   #56
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


I found this site looking to see how to replace the water tube dispenser in the Frigidaire after I "fixed" my plastic water dispenser actuator... Super Glue works great! Glued, and used the brush applicator to put a few coats on the outside of the break.. can't even see it. I figure it would be better than shelling out $80 for the replacement.

The problem I had, as others have posted, was that once the actuator was fixed, putting it back in caused issues with everything else. To include having the water dispenser tube pop out of the hole. I assumed that I would have to replace the whole tube from the quick disconnect at the bottom of the freezer door and was looking thru this thread for ideas.

trickyinHB had a great tip by using a small rod to help guide the tube back into the hole. Instead of a rod... use a small lag bolt or large wooden screw. I was able to angle a 3" X 1/4" lag bolt thru the hole, align the component back into the Freezer door and then gently thread the tube onto the lag bolt to give it some bite.. but not enough to expand the tube so that it will not fit thru the hole. I gave it a gentle tug and the tube came thru the dispensor hole. Then I unscrewed the lag bolt and put the system away.

One last tip. After going thru this the ribbon everyone is talking about, I had some issues with it staying connected after a few assembly-disassemblies. Since the connection is on one side, I used a sticky note cut into small pieces to reinforce the other side, making the ribbon a little thicker and thus it stayed attached once I inserted it.

Figured I would share - thought I would be spending about $200 to have fixed.. ended up not spending a dime. So far, the super glue is holding great.

Rooster
rooster_cogbern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 11:47 PM   #57
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


I have the same issues with the ribbon connector coming loose on the door side circuit board. Hoping not to have to try replacing all boards along with ribbon connector. Ice dispenser keeps running and water does not dispense and both arm lights stay lit as well. Is there some reset function?
jayhawk87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 10:05 PM   #58
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


I could not find a reset function and frigidaire offered no help and no support. I purchased the ribbon and the front panel control board but the new ribbon ended up fixing it.
there are white locks that snap up very easily from the back of the control panels so that you can slide in the ribbon straight and then attach it back to the panel . you really need 3 hands for this, but if you slide the panel over one arm and hold it there while you assemble you can put it back together by yourself.
the only issue is that I now only get crushed ice, but I'm not taking it apart again to fix that issue. if you want cubed open the door.
jdohring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:06 AM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


Make sure your crusher solenoid is not frozen. Very common. If the solenoid isn't working you won't get cubed ice
sv9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sv9779 For This Useful Post:
jdohring (03-21-2011)
Old 03-21-2011, 02:34 PM   #60
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Frigidaire Ice/Water Dispenser


thanks, I will check the solenoid!

Advertisement

jdohring is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frigidaire water dispenser does not work waywestside Appliances 4 09-27-2011 03:20 PM
Water Actuator Frigidaire PLHS269ZCB3 Nazz300 Appliances 2 02-26-2011 02:22 AM
Frigidaire Water Dispenser Won't Stop tharper999 Appliances 6 03-22-2007 08:11 AM
GE Profile Ice Cube Dispenser Problem homebrewer Appliances 1 12-20-2006 11:24 PM
Ice/water underlayment twaters12 Roofing/Siding 11 03-15-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts