Frigidaire Gas Range With Slow Oven - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 09:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,269
Rewards Points: 624
Default

Frigidaire Gas Range with slow oven


The ten year old oven is slow to preheat, may take an hour to reach 350. Is this a faulty thermostat?

Thanks in advance. Glad you guys have an appliance forum.

Advertisement

cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 10:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,269
Rewards Points: 624
Default

Frigidaire Gas Range with slow oven


Oh, and I forgot to mention that I have a report that it smells like gas. God knows what I'll find when I look at it tomorrow. Really dirty burner?

Advertisement

cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:50 PM   #3
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,580
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Frigidaire Gas Range with slow oven


bake ignitor getting weak, replace it before you use it again.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,269
Rewards Points: 624
Default

Frigidaire Gas Range with slow oven


Looked at the badboy today.

Ignitor burns fine. Flame lights and is very small, I mean just visible. This would explain why tenant says it takes forever to warm up and bake something. I imagine they have only been warming up a pizza or something along those lines, no precise baking going on.

Try again, Hawkeye, and let me know who will be in the backfield next year.
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:45 PM   #5
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,580
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Frigidaire Gas Range with slow oven


weak igniter can cause that problem, how long did it take for the burner to come on once you turned the control on?
As for who will be in the backfield next year, that is anybodys guess
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 10:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,269
Rewards Points: 624
Default

Frigidaire Gas Range with slow oven


It took long enough for the burner to come on that I wondered if it was going to come on. It may have been 30 seconds.

But the thing that gets me is that it came on, then the flames were so small. I figured that if it ignited, the ignitor must be good, and the small flame confuses me.

Maybe I should start with the ignitor. The regulator is 75 and the gas valve is also about that much.

I replaced the ignitor on the broiler on another stove, same model, same date of purchase.

I was tailgating at several games this past fall. I don't have tickets and a younger child, so we just hang out at the RV during the games. I was amazed at how many people do the same.
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 09:06 AM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,580
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Frigidaire Gas Range with slow oven


do you have a clamp on amp probe? if you do you can definitely determine if the igniter is the problem. Right now I'm not so sure since it lights that fast. Ignition should occur approximately 45- 60 seconds after you turn the control on.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 11:36 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,269
Rewards Points: 624
Default

Frigidaire Gas Range with slow oven


I do have a clamp-on multimeter.

I think I am going to replace this with new, then bring it to my shop and repair it, then keep it as a spare.

So I'll let you know more as I approach the belly of the beast...

Advertisement

cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing range with cooktop and oven diy-diy Electrical 2 10-10-2011 08:18 PM
Roper Electric Oven Range Problem mcnutty Appliances 6 07-05-2011 06:32 PM
Old gas kenmore range....no oven, but burners work shadango Appliances 24 11-17-2010 07:45 AM
Oven Door question for Amana Gas Range ChrisJJ Appliances 1 09-13-2010 07:48 AM
frigidaire range angdeer Appliances 2 11-08-2009 06:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts