Frigidaire Freezer Almost Fixed, Frost Line Low Side - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2016, 12:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Frigidaire Freezer Almost Fixed, Frost Line Low Side


Frigidaire Freezer:
FFU14F77HWJ
My Freezer stopped working, display kept reading "no temp"
Then everything thawed out!
I removed the cover to the evaporator and found there no frost across and down the evaporator.
called a repair tech and he said compressor appears to be working and that I probably had a leak. we let it run for an hour and only a small amount of frost appeared on the evaporator. Then he told me it wasn't worth repairing. Great? I then decided to try and add Freon R134A .
Purchased some gauges, a Line tap, and Mastercool Can adaptor for my Freon, I installed the line tap on the low side, not enough room to install on the service line tube. I ran the freezer and saw it was indeed low on Freon,
I started adding Freon a little at a time, until the low side settled at 3 PSI
Then let it run for 5 hrs, now temp is down to 18 deg. However my low side line is frosted, I understand that meant overcharging, but my gauges only showed 1 PSI on the low side. Also my evaporator is about 3/4 covered with frost, I have enclosed pictures of low side with frost and line tap
and evaporator frosted, Note I had not vacuumed the system prior to adding Freon, I do have a vacuum pump, but didn't have a way to transfer the old Freon to a holding tank? in order to vacuum the system
Attached Thumbnails
Frigidaire Freezer Almost Fixed, Frost Line Low Side-20160109_130550.jpg   Frigidaire Freezer Almost Fixed, Frost Line Low Side-20160109_222004.jpg  

Advertisement

DSigala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 07:43 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 33,259
Rewards Points: 5,484
Default


Does it have a fan? If so, is it running. May just be over charged now.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 12:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Hi, Yes the fan is running, freezer is suppose to get down to -10, but its 18 degrees?
I don't get it being overcharged since when you check the low side pressure, its at 0 PSI. and this morning frost is still showing on the low side line, but only at the Line Tap, the rest of the line is frost free, I checked temp on evaporator its about 8 to 10 deg. top and bottom, as soon as I opened door the temp shot up to 40 degrees on the control panel.
Also one other question is, I used the AC Pro synthetic 134A, I bought at Walmart.
I read somewhere you cant use automotive 134A on refrigerators or freezers?
Note:I had not put the evaporator cover on, when testing the pressures

Last edited by DSigala; 01-10-2016 at 12:57 PM. Reason: incorrect temp stated
DSigala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 02:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 287
Rewards Points: 574
Default


Did it contain any stop leak additive? That stuff is sure death to HVAC tools.
wptski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 12:57 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Oh great, Yes it says on canm Seals AC Leaks in rubber, O rings gaskets and hoses,
AC/Pro did come with its own reusable gauge, Thou, that's not what I used
I used my 134A Manifold gages, Is there anything I can do , I only used them for this repair. I actually bought them from Amazon. More ice has accumulated on the low side again,
DSigala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 04:36 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 33,259
Rewards Points: 5,484
Default


Without the cover on, you can't get an accurate reading.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 07:51 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 287
Rewards Points: 574
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by DSigala View Post
Oh great, Yes it says on canm Seals AC Leaks in rubber, O rings gaskets and hoses,
AC/Pro did come with its own reusable gauge, Thou, that's not what I used
I used my 134A Manifold gages, Is there anything I can do , I only used them for this repair. I actually bought them from Amazon. More ice has accumulated on the low side again,
A market has been created for leak sealant detectors because it will plug up a recovery machine but this is mostly for MVAC or automotive because of more DIY. Did you connect the A/C Pro directly or through your gauge set? Never heard of any damage to gauge set anyway just recovery machines.
wptski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 11:23 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Hello, I connected the can of A/C pro to my manifold, so I could monitor the low side pressure while adding , I just called A/C Pro and he said there should be no problem using it with my manifold gauges, So I hope he is correct. anyway thanks for the heads up, by the way, still showing frost on the whole low side, temp display on control panel showed -10 degree's this morning, but then it shot back up to 18 deg
after removing my gauge from the low side quick disconnect? perhaps its still overcharged. Somewhat erratic on temp
DSigala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 04:23 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 33,259
Rewards Points: 5,484
Default


In the old days. We would just keep leaving out gas until the low side didn't freeze up anymore.

These days, we just recover the entire charge, and then recharge to factory list weight.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 08:51 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default


I was going to install another line tap on the service line, Can I use a recovery system to take out some refrigerant, or just use the low side line tap,
Just checked temp, its down to 8 degrees on the control panel.
Also I will put the cover back on and recheck., thanks everyone for your input.,
Also was going to make a recovery machine out of another used compressor to recover the 134A.
DSigala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 09:16 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 33,259
Rewards Points: 5,484
Default


Before you do anything else. Put the over back on. The fan must be blowing over the evap coil for it to work right.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 11:19 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default


OK beenthere
I will do that first thing in the morning! Thanks for your help!
DSigala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 09:01 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Well, I installed the evaporator cover, what a pain to get those side gaskets in place.
Now it is working like it should, Steady -10 Degrees! I hope it continues, but I at least know what the problem was, My Low side line has minimum frost at the line tap
So just want to say thanks everyone that helped me on this. Like to get a used recovery machine now, sure would have helped. but the cover sure made a difference
Thanks again everyone for your help
Dennis
DSigala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 09:03 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 33,259
Rewards Points: 5,484
Default


Your welcome.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 08:03 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 287
Rewards Points: 574
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by DSigala View Post
I was going to install another line tap on the service line, Can I use a recovery system to take out some refrigerant, or just use the low side line tap,
Just checked temp, its down to 8 degrees on the control panel.
Also I will put the cover back on and recheck., thanks everyone for your input.,
Also was going to make a recovery machine out of another used compressor to recover the 134A.
What brand of line tap did you use? I've had the piercing pin which becomes the Schrader valve on a Supco stick as I removed the hose. The large head on the pin gets caught on the rolled over edge that keeps those parts trapped. This can be avoided if one has hoses that have an adjustable depressors like the Yellow Jacket brand has. You have to adjust it so it doesn't press the pin in too far.

Advertisement

wptski is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper size of low side line - R-410A q5p4k0 HVAC 29 04-19-2014 10:41 AM
Fixed Line Trimmer Heads semajhsurb Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 05-19-2013 10:02 AM
Frigidaire Side By Side Intermittent Grinding or Growling Noise jones6826 Appliances 2 11-14-2012 10:40 AM
Frigidaire side by side freezer works refrigerator doesn't! Towerdog2 Appliances 11 07-22-2012 10:26 PM
Replacing standard sliding glass door with same size fixed on side hinged second side Jacey Windows and Doors 2 12-08-2011 07:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1